Bob's an Artist: Dylan to Exhibit his Paintings in London!

in #news7 years ago

After his announcement that he would not be in Stockholm to collect the Nobel prize, Bob Dylan had been criticized for insulting the academy as he had no tours or any pre-existing commitments, and he was shunning the prize.

But now it seems the critics were wrong, because Dylan is opening The Beaten Path, an exhibition of his drawings in London which is scheduled to run till the 11th of December, 2016! That too in an area of London which could be considered un-Dylanesque, at the Halcyon Gallery on New Bond street, across the road from Ralph Lauren and Jimmy Choo!



Side Tracks - 17 October 1964 - Detroit, Michigan. Art by Bob Dylan [Photo Credit]


For those who had no idea, Dylan started drawing since 1960 and his works are as real as things can be. According to him

These paintings are up to the moment realism – archaic, most static, but quivering in appearance. They contradict the modern world. However, that’s my doing.

One thing which stands out in his paintings is the fact that they seem to portray a small-town America apparently suspended in the middle of the 20th century, when he was young, a world of diners, movie theaters, hot dog stands and classic cars. And even when he paints a contemporary scene, such as a couple on a pier in Virginia in 2015, the figures are dressed as if they could have been from the 1950s.

There also seems to be a theme around it as Dylan has remarked in his foreword for the catalouge

The common theme of these works having something to do with the American landscape – how you see it while crisscrossing the land and seeing it for what it’s worth. Staying out of the mainstream and travelling the back roads, free-born style.



‘Train Tracks’ by Bob Dylan, 2007. Gouache and water-color [Photo Credit]


Source for this post and further reading


  1. http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/uk/busy-bob-dylan-beats-new-path-to-london-with-art-exhibition-1.2880714)

If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me. Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

This is a 1st...will share in fb! Steem on!

Thank you and am glad you like it!

I would love to go see his exhibition. If I could upvote I would have done it when there were only 6 votes ;) thanks for the info

I too would have loved to go but I live too far away :)

And your vote is your prerogative and I do not expect any which is not given with free will! But I see you say "If I could vote", are you facing a problem?

Yes,theres no option to upvote other posts

awesome paintings :D

Even I think so, he is quite the artist in my view, and I like his style. Thanks.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97