Programmer, Fired After 6 Years, Realizes He Doesn't Know How to Code

in #news8 years ago

This week on /CSCareerQuestions, Reddit user FiletOfFish1066 reveals an unfortunate situation that sounds almost too much like HBO's Silicon Valley to be true. OP was fired after spending six full years working at a well-known tech company in the Bay Area. Now, our friend reflects on his time there and admits he may have made some mistakes along the way: for instance, automating his job to the point where he forgot how to code. Let's investigate what happened and see what OP can do to salvage his tech career. Spoiler alert: OP is not "Big Head" Bighetti.

http://www.payscale.com/career-news/2016/05/programmer-fired-after-6-years-realizes-he-doesnt-know-how-to-code

Sort:  

I have the same experience. I automated most of my jobs years ago and the times I need to do them manually I have to retrain myself all over again and each time it seems to be more difficult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94