Sundance 2018: Nicolas Uncaged

in #news7 years ago (edited)

The Cage is back, with a vengeance.

38711803411_caf4a2d2e5_o-1.jpg
His new film Mandy premiered at Sundance this week and it's reportedly chock full of classic Cage magic. From what I've read, Mandy has been described as a throwback action/horror dripping with surrealism and buckets of blood. Directed by Panos Cosmatos, our hero Nic stars alongside Andrea Riseborough (Birdman) in a remote 1980's mountain town. Andrea plays the titular Mandy, the love of Red's (Nic Cage's) life. Mandy is murdered early on by a gang of bikers straight out of Hellraiser, hired by a cult leader, while Red is forced to watch. The rest of the movie consists of Nicolas Cage hunting them down and bringing them to a violent, pulpy justice.

Cage highlights include:

  • Nicolas Cage welding a handmade battle axe.
  • Nicolas Cage pouring an entire bottle of vodka on his wounds and down his throat while screaming.
  • Nicolas Cage in a chainsaw fight.

It's hard to describe the level of FOMO I felt when I heard about Mandy. I went to Sundance last year and I had the opportunity to see some fantastic films, sitting just seats away from celebrities ranging from Malia Obama to the RZA. I even snapped a pic with my buddy, Quentin Tarantino!
16406941_10210144988213342_378314641883828050_n.jpg
He didn't seem too happy about it...

Jokes aside, I'm incredibly excited for this film. My fingers are crossed for a Los Angeles screening/Q&A with the cast and crew. There isn't a trailer yet, but you can enjoy this badass poster in the meantime, complete with 80's pulp artwork and a chainsaw dual:

image-2.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48