BEST FRIEND BAN!

in #news7 years ago

I actually just finished watching a video by Joe Santagato, and I could not believe what I heard on his latest vlog. Although he is known for his adult humor, there was nothing funny about what he reported in his latest video which he had shared on his podcast. The news he reported was so shocking to me that I had to go look it up and it indeed was true! There are schools in the United states and in Europe that want to ban the concept of best friends because of other kids that may feel secluded, according to National Review Online.

Now, I have several thoughts in regards to this. Teachers need to learn to make more activities for children as they get older so they do not feel secluded. From grade school onward, teachers and parents alike should encourage children to be social and kind to one another. But NEVER ban the idea or concept of having "best friends" in the class room. That is not fair for school systems to do so. Instead of banning the concept of best friends, why not encourage someone to talk and connect with someone new so no one feels secluded? One can then be considerate and still have that special bond with their best friend. I mean, let's be honest here, there are people we get along with immediately in this world and build an automatic friendship with. Then you have other people in this world where you simply can not click with outside of work or otherwise. There is nothing wrong with that.

There are all kinds of scenarios and experiences children and young adults will be faced with outside of school. I say, stop setting the children up for failure. Just encourage your children to be kind and respectful to others inside the classroom and outside of the classroom.

bff ban.png

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Thanks so much for the love! I truly appreciate it! :D

Say What!!!!! I swear I’m always telling my daughter that the public school system no longer sets them up for life in general. Like they really don’t give kids life skills. In her elementary school no score was allowed to be taken in sports. Even when she was on a team and would play against other schools, they would score the games so no one loses. This is just crazy to me. I always made sure to keep count and let her know what was up. Kids need to be able to learn coping skills. Life isn’t always fair.

I 100% agree with ya Clueless Mama D! The school system needs to stop worrying about trying to please everyone and teach children real life lessons and possibly how to cope. That would be nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66