Drainage gone bad. Or is there a drainage even? Woes in Nairobi as Kenya witnesses a heavy downpour.

in #news7 years ago

Hello Steemians

Today, I am bringing you the photos of the state that is Kenya after heavy rains in the last two weeks. All the photos here were taken from images sent to me by my friends on whatsapp and other IM applications.

This was the state of one of our roads yesterday. This has since been repaired.

Today we woke up to a heavy downpour and things got thick pretty fast. Areas flooded and cars were washed away by water.

It is no joke that we treat our drainage systems so poorly, we clog them with garbage and expect different results. Some places the said drainage is non existent.

I know this must be look bleak for us but, I see some progress in that we managed to ban plastic bags which was the number one litter.

One can only hope to see more improvements with people learning to care for their places of work and residence. Depose of your garbage well or this nightmare will continue year in year out.

Today I would say was a huge lesson. As the Met department promises more rains, I hope for everyone to stay safe.

Kenyan's finding the silver lining with funny memes online.

Most Kenyans

Thank you for visiting my blog. Join me next time for more.


Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe


Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Looks like there was an earthquake...

*** hai friends, I just joined, I dare say I need you, and I really hope to excel, just like you, thank you ***

With upto 12ft of water in some areas, it is serious and it will only get worse as it continues to rain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72