Your efforts were never in vain... Peace is coming

in #news6 years ago (edited)

1431828975925.jpeg
This photo was taken in 2015 when I visited the DMZ. It is known as the Peace Village or 평화촌.

I want to start this post by thanking all the soldiers that fought in the Korean War. Whether you are South Korean, American, from the UN forces, or worked in the military hospitals/ ambulances, thank you. It has been nearly 70 years, a lot of young people gave their lives fighting for what they believed, some made sacrifices back home, and unfortunately many brought home scars that you cannot see; however, your work and efforts were not for nothing, the war is finally coming to an end.

This moment that we are living feels like the fall of the Berlin Wall for our time. With that said, I hope that the scars between the nations of North and South Korea can begin to heal. North Koreans, Chinese, Russians, and other allies to their cause fought hard for what they believed in, both sides endured hardships, and their work is being achieved as well, peace on the peninsula.

Full Disclaimer: I live in Korea, but I in no way have any information beyond anyone else regarding this peace agreement. The information that I have is the same as everyone else, and you can google the news and be about as caught up as I am. Here is an article by USA Today on this topic.

I wanted to write this article because my grandfather fought in the Korean War, my father was stationed in Korea in the late 70s, and now I am here. So, seeing this gradual movement towards peace from generation to generation and being apart of this historic moment feels close to me.

I still remember when my Mom told my Grandfather that I would be studying in Korea, his face lit up with joy and said to me that South Koreans are great people. To me, that was kinda mind-blowing because my mother has tried getting stories out of him of what happened and he never wanted to talk about it, but that response was heartwarming to see and hear from him. Grandpa, you don't have to worry anymore, you can rest easy knowing that the war is ending.

Another one of my Grandfathers (the man who raised me for nearly half my life) joined the airforce and was stationed in Iceland during the Cold War was always worried about me. I wish I could go home to him this Summer and tell him that he doesn't have to worry anymore. Completely different perspectives on me being here, but I hope that they both know, somehow that their work is finished and they don't need to worry anymore.

There are still many talks that are to be held between the North and South, the North and America, and all the other nations that have been affected but I hope that this post is not too early. Literally, anything could happen between now and next month, but I look to the future with the hope of peace. Like I just stated, there is a lot of work to be done, but I hope that these are the first steps to let the healing process begin between these nations.




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow 👍
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

DQmXf3NuiWNi6msKVT3qx7QYdaY9DerStDE6yqYp3pc2gmz.png

Sort:  

Thank you for giving tribute to your grandfather and those who made sacrifices during the war. And hope to see more of your posts about your experiences there in Korea.

I also would like to let you know that I featured your post in today's Minnow Fridays which is part of the Newbie Resteem Initiative. Keep up writing quality content.

Thank you for that. I am sure they both would love to see Korea today. Along with my father but his health doesn't permit him to leave the states. 😓

Release the Kraken! You got a 17.06% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @mr-bike!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60