Bomb Threat In Cancun Mall? Sure Enough I Was There

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Good evening fellow Steemians. I had a somewhat eventful day and as the title suggests I was privy to a bomb threat. So let's jump right into the action. At around 10:30am on the 12th of June I was in the Plaza Las Americas Mall in Cancun, Mexico dontown and not anywhere near the Hotel Zone because I wanted to see a movie later on in the day... The Mummy.

As I arrived to the movie theater section to read the listing for showtimes a teller behind the counter spoke in spanish. I barely glanced up as I was sure she wasn't addressing me and I noticed around 20 people about fifty yards away from me start to run. I being the ever astute individual thought, "that's funny I wonder why they are running?" & then preceeded to continue looking at the showtimes of the movies. The teller disappeared into a doorway behind the counter and about 30 seconds later she definitely addressed me. "Ay una amenza de bomba!" she yelled at me while waving her hands frantically. (Translation there is a bomb threat.)

I walked towards the direction of where the 20 people had fled, whipped out my crappy LG cell phone and started to take a video. (Turn up your speakers due to horrible audio.)

Now as I started to make the video more people were entering the mall... no announcements were being made, in fact there were people still going into the Starbucks and McDonalds while some store owners were closing shops. I then decided to walk back and talk to a security guard.

As I was doing so I noticed that the limited amount of mall security was not really trying to have us evacuate they just closed sliding doors to key areas of the mall. (Really turn up your speakers!)

Eventually I chose to sit down at the Starbucks and take some more video before deciding to leave the mall and walk around to see if anything at all was really transpiring. (If I haven't mentioned before blast your speakers to listen!)

What's really interesting about this last video is that they are evacuating workers from the movie theater but still letting in people to the mall. (I wasn't kidding about turning up your speakers.) The next video is a little shaky as two guards that looked like mall security were carrying small machine guns. Mall cops are not allowed firearms of any sort even in Mexico.

I decided now was a good time to check the perimeter of the mall.

So all in all I really do not have any clues as to what really happened. Was there a bomb? Was it a drill? I will take a look tomorrow in the morning newspaper and see what is said about the incident. Some people did look worried but for the most part everyone was pretty laid back about the situation including yours truly. I know that about twenty minutes after the last video I took the mall reopened. Reporting for Steemit from Plaza Las Americas Cancun, Mexico I'm @mithrilweed.

(Update: There was no mention of this at all in the news or newspapers here in Cancun 6/16/17)

follow mithrilweed.png

Sort:  

sounds like an exciting day.

Would be a bit more exciting if you voted on my post :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55