It's beginning to feel a little Amway-like in here...

in #news6 years ago (edited)

I know I am posting solid content, and that includes both my own articles and my replies. I think I've posted more articles than replies received in the three days+ I've been here.

Is anyone here to actually read, or is this kind of an electronic Amway, where only the early birds get any notice or revenue?

And what's with all the bots and mail-order-bride-like accounts? As long as it takes to get approved, you would think that someone might actually be sifting those out.

Sort:  

That's everyone complaint here. Crypto is supposed to free us from the shackles of the traditional financial system, but this place has managed to evolve into a digital form of the social pyramid that exits in the real world, were the ones that has something gets more by raping the system.

In my personal view, this is were steem is failing, but I have no idea in how to fix it.

It seems that the value assigned to a post should be more balanced and fair. An original "Amway" person here should not have their votes count hundreds of times those of newbies.

Also, people should be forced to read and comment in order to gain "posting points" that allow you to then post your own materials. That way, people would care what others are posting.

Finally, these bots and accounts by desperate young women in third-world countries looking for western males could easily be moderated OUT, if the intent was to build a REAL, independent information highway, rather than just a click-count tool for fattening up the early birds.

Jejeje desperate young womens. The thing is that this is a closed platform, so people behave as a fraternity, the one with voting power that can give you money just by liking your post (AKA whales) are the cool guys and girls and everyone wants to be them and to hang out with them. But, again, that's because is a closed system, a social media, but out in the open the one that gives you something to make you better, in any way, are the cool ones, at least from my perspective.

So how can this be fix, I like your idea of forcing people to read articles and to write comments on it before writing their own stuff, I don't know if that can be coded, from my end what I can do is just don't approved the behaviour of the raping the reward pool system and avoiding those post as plague. Peace out.

Is there a mechanism for voting in new rules?

Surely, there are more than two of us who have these types of concerns.

That's it, then?

One person?

Really?

I’ve noticed this too, but I think your example doesn’t go far enough. It’s like Amway, but you can only sell your products to other Amway vendors. It is a site full of content creators, with zero content consumers. And if you post a link externally and you were to get ten million non-Steem-account views, well, that’s too bad because those don’t count for anything.

Very, very well said, my friend. We are going to have to unite as newbies and force the fat cats to make this site more about real news, real engagement, real freedom-enhancement, real democratic principles, etc.

Check out this top 10 Steemit account:

https://steemit.com/@stellabelle

She hardly posts anything of her own, but mostly just "resteems" stuff.

This was the last original content she posted:
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@stellabelle/2nd-entry-for-artexplosion-week-34-erotica

Ummm....excuse me but that looks like Comet Pizza, Spirit-Cooking, Podesta-brothers stuff to me....

Anyone else?

I'm here @mepatriot! howdy. Just got to Steemit in the last few minutes. I agree totally but don't know what to do about it, I was told that it takes alot of patience and a couple of months of posting everyday until you get some good traction but there are probably ways to speed things up, just don't know what those are. I don't understand the bots or if they are ethical to use, I've read posts that complain about people using them. I'm heading over to the Minnow Support Project to see if they have any answers @minnowsupport. I think they have a discord discussion group also where questions can be asked.

Let me know if they give you any good thoughts, John, although I suspect that the whales here may not care what we think--if you get my drift.

I think bots desperately need to be cleaned up here, and all the mail-order-bride type newbies eliminated. I also think people should earn the right to post by reading and replying enough to earn "posting points."

Just watched a Youtube of a guy who walked to "the Steemit Corporate HQ" on South Park Avenue, in NYC. It's a Post office box. No office, no face plate out front. No signage anywhere. Nothing. Just a door with a gal inside who watches a bunch of post office boxes on a wall.

Just saying...

I love the idea of getting paid for good content, and I believe I've already posted a bunch of it, but my early reading is that no one here is getting rich except the first few in (and their friends.) I don't need to be rich, but I want to be paid fairly, and not just work my butt off to support the whales.

Hope I'm worng.

Well you're not alone because I've read alot of posts by disgruntled and even disgusted members who sy that the owners don't really care about changing anything because they have been presented with the problems which could easily be fixed and they don't do anything about it, at least that's what I've read. So in other words you summed up the situation pretty fast...which means you are overqualified to be here man, sorry. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60