BBC LAUNCHES LIVE BROADCAST IN IGBO, YORUBA, PIDGIN

in #news6 years ago (edited)


News of the launch of BBC Igbo reached me while checking messages of one of the WhatsApp groups I belong to. Certainly, this will bring joy to the Igbo race of Nigeria and in the diaspora. Apart from the live broadcast in Igbo, the BBC also launched broadcast in Yoruba and Pidgin, which is widely spoken in Nigeria.
For BBC Igbo, visit https://www.bbc.com/igbo
For BBC Yoruba, visit https://www.bbc.com/yoruba
For BBC Pidgin, visit https://www.bbc.com/pidgin 😃
(Make we dey blow the pidgin together. Nothing do us, my people).

Video source: from whatsapp

Follow @maryfavour & @redfishpillar.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is good news and shows BBC is moving in the right direction trying to balance things up. They've been broadcasting in Hausa for years.

Yes, sir @abbiephoto. You can say that again. For ages now they've been broadcasting in Hausa, making it look like other tribes in Nigeria are not important. I'm glad there is a balance now.
Believe it or not, sir, I've been listening to BBC pidgin ever since the launch. It's been quite interesting. I appreciate your contribution, sir.

It is a plus for this population. It shows that there is demand for it.
Keep on steemin'

Exactly my thoughts, @pouchon! Demand is what makes a business expand in this manner. Employment has also been created for many Nigerians. This development by the BBC really makes me glad. Thanks for your contribution. Keep steeming too!

This indeed, is a welcome development. I am glad that BBC news will be taken to the grassroot because majority will at least understand one or more of the languages.
On a lighter note, I thought the woman wearing purple was @maryfavour. She looks so beautiful like my sister.

Now my native kinsmen can listen and enjoy international news in their local and native language! That’s a good one from BBC.

I’ll be visiting your blog for your awesome posts, thanks to steemauto.com that helps me in up voting your posts at anytime you submit your posts, thanks also to steemd.com that brings the history alive so that I can comment on your blog posts.

www.steemauto.com

Its a site that automatically upvotes anyone that you’ve counted his/her post trustworthy and have set the steemauto to upvote once the person posts, (your fans and friends)

Will you be signing up, the service costs 0.001sbd

after setting it up, use ‘Fanbase’ menu there to add your fans, I’ve added you already.

Nigerian women are so pretty @maryfavour..

Yes, we are, @kofibeatz. From your steemit username, I guess you are from Ghana. Thanks for the lovely compliment.

I'm actually from South Africa @maryfavour..

Oh, sorry! Please, I beg your pardon. I didn't realise that you are from South Africa. When I saw the name, Kofi..., I felt that you are from Ghana.

It's all good. We're all from the same mother and father anyways..

Wao! This good news kept my mouth wide opened. BBC just did what many thought could not be possible. This is another means of uniting people together.

Wao! This good news kept my mouth wide opened

I can just imagine how amazed you are, @funkylove. Many may believe in impossibilies, I don't.

This is another means of uniting people together.

You've nailed it! This is one great benefit of this move by the BBC. Thanks for your wonderful contribution, dear.

At last we are beginning to have a balance in things concerning our cultural diversity. This colonization and oppression from our colonial masters and the Hausa's need to stop. If the Hausa language is the only recognised language by our colonial master in things like 'BBC Hausa' why wont they be thinking ruling is their birth right. Things are beginning stabilize and equalize. #leteverytribebefullyrepresented#.

The balance in cultural diversity has been long overdue. Broadcast in BBC Hausa for ages might have really been one major factor leading to the 'born to rule' mentality of our brothers in the North. Your support is much appreciated, @eugenecr7. Keep steeming 👍.

Wow that's a great news. My language will no longer go into extinction as speculated.

Dubem , @dubem-eu, if there is something more than great news, that is what it is. I'm very excited about it. Whenever I listen to people speak the Nigerian languages I understand, be it in movies, news, telephone call etc., I feel at home.

My language will no longer go into extinction as speculated.

It will never go into extinction. Before now, I've been watching our movies on http://www.esan.tv/ . Now, I've got the opportunity to listen to live broadcast in Igbo and pidgin. Hehehee...

Hahaha. This is so cool. I cant wait to hear some Yoruba again. The pidgin own go sweet sha.

@turpsy, the pidgin own sweet. I no go lie you. Listen to this interview on BBC Yoruba with Nigeria's Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka (translated from Yoruba to pidgin).

Hahaha. I will. Thanks. At least it will create more job for people.

Great thing to ever happen to the Ibos and d Yorubas. Information there said is power, reasons why d hausa no matter their level of education, have a transistor with him at all times. We must all wake up to d level of their political awareness. Great stride.

Yes, @sunny4glow, information is power. Our brothers & sisters from Northern Nigeria, certainly, have the information. If we must grow in the South & middle belt, we need to up our own game. Information I got from BBC pidgin , yesterday, reveals that North West already have more registered voters for 2019 election.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66