Arsonists Started Fires Near My House

in #news7 years ago (edited)

This past fall my beautiful Appalachian Mountains suffered from horrible forest fires due to arson. For four months we really didn't get much rain. The woods were dry and the weather outlets gave warnings that it was prime conditions for forest fires. Some horrible people purposely set fires and in many cases they got out of control.

I live in a house on top of a mountain. Not far from me someone started a forest fire on purpose for some unknown reason. It was warm weather and windy which caused the fire to spread. Other fires were started in different parts of the mountains. We couldn't go outside our house because of the smoke in the air. It took a few weeks for the fires to get under control.

Out of Control Fires

161129-dollywood-fire-wide-mccamish-515p_d07f25518aa0f7116bf893f366f07e2c.nbcnews-fp-1200-800.jpeg
picture of the fires a few hours from my house

Below is a video of the worst fire started. You can see how scary and horrible the fire was. It was 2 hours from my house in a place we often visit to go shopping. Rain hadn't fall for 4 months and then we had bad wind storms when the fire started. A small fire spread quickly through the woods in a matter of hours. Two teenagers started a fire that destroyed 17,000 acres of land, over 1,000 business and houses, and left many people without jobs and/or homeless. They had to shut the entire town down and evacuate everyone because it was so dangerous.

Sort:  

Excellent post @ marxrab thank you very much for sharing, the video is amazing, I do not want to be there, fire is something very powerful, once it grows is very difficult to control it, in my country Argentina happens very often these types of forest fires.

It was scary. I hope you never have any in Argentina. It was really destructive. Thanks for checking out my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83