Officers Finish Treehouse Their Fallen Comrade was Building for His Daughter

in #news7 years ago (edited)

In 1977, my grandfather passed away in a motorcycle accident. Because of his generous spirit in business, his partners rallied around my grandmother, and her 3 teenage kids to help the family through the struggle.

There are many stories that we tell of that time, but my favorite is when one of my grandpa's friends came over and hugged my Aunt Karen who was missing her daddy at the funeral. He looked at her, and asked a simple question, "Karen, may I be your daddy today?"


The following story reminded me of how friends rally to those in need.


In order to honor their fallen comrade, 35 police officers and NY state troopers decided to finish a special project for a family in their midst.

Retired and active officers from Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office, New York State Police, and the Watertown City Police came together to finish a treehouse that Officer Joel Davis was working on for his teenage daughter, Jaila.

In a single day, officers built Jaila a ladder, windows, a balcony, and even put up special lights to honor her father and take care of her. The 36-year-old Davis had been shot while answering the call for a domestic violence incident in Jefferson County.

Jaila now has a visual reminder of how many daddies are there for her. Her daddy may be gone, but I'd say there is a whole army of men ready and willing to answer a phone call when Jaila needs a daddy.


Thank you for visiting.alt text me for more positive content.


Image Sources: 1-2
Source: Officers rally to build Jalia's treehouse

Sort:  

This happened relatively close by to me. The entire region came together in support of the victims and their families.

Although the state of our law enforcement is justifiably in question, it's important to remember their job is honorable and they deserve our respect.

I'm glad you shared this with us. It is wonderful how people responded to the tragedy.

Agreed, you said it well.

what a beautiful story, upped. Thanks for sharing this.

You're welcome.

Thanks, what is your opinion about bots ? feel free to see my latest post about the subject and send in your comment. I wish you more success and hope that we stay in touch

Your article is in my reading list. :)

A valuable article like yours I want to make the time to sit and ponder it as I read.

wow @lydon.sipe I am honored. Now I reserve 3 drums of cold Bavarian beer for you and a bascket of Nurnberger bradwurst...come over today and enjoy!!!!!ASAP

Haha, this is turning into a party!

Absolutely...still keeping my fingers crossed for 2K steem price by end of next year..haha

Good to know there is still some good deeds going on out there!

Yes, it is! I enjoy finding these stories for us to read.

This is such a sweet touching story. There are sometimes a lasting camaraderie on some people and it makes a lot of difference to someone's life.

It truly does.

That is a very touching story. My granddaughter and I built a tree house some years ago...

Of course, sad stories always make me long for Glory. "Thy kingdom come."

😄😇😄

@creatr

That is a sweet memory.

Mmm, Thy kingdom come indeed. What sweet scent it is of the aroma of heaven, and all the while calls us deeper into His presence.

Brought a tear to my eye. I hate to see people's worlds being ripped apart by senseless killing. Your grandfather's friend that offered to be "daddy" has a special kind of heart.

Yes, he does. We are blessed to have friends like that around us.

that was wonderful to read

Glad you liked it.

It looks good
but it's scary for me
I don't feel safe in treehouses

I don't know
It's a feeling of me

this is very touching, lydon - such a heart-rending loss.

Sometimes people renew your faith in humanity

Yes, it is.

Sometimes they do, and I love finding those stories.

nice story
thank you for sharing
upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47