Weening Myself From Mainstream Media - Going On A Mainstream Media Fast

in #news7 years ago

Recently, I've gone on a mainstream media fast. I have to take a break from the craziness that is presently the media coverage of the White House.

In my lifetime I have had many presidents and never have I gave a damn about what my president tweets, who he talked to, what he had for lunch or who he was screwing. All I have ever wanted to know is what is he doing for our people, our economy, and our future.

But my mainstream media choices choose to talk of little else than what the president tweeted. Is this a joke? Is this what passes as news these days? Please tell me I'm dreaming and am about to wake up. Should I start worrying?

If these huge networks and publishers are devoting so much time and costs to producing stories based on what the president tweeted last night and calling that news, I'm horrified to wonder what is happening in the world that isn't being reported.

mainstream media fasting.jpg

Image credit

How can the media get away with reporting trivial things about the president's tweets and still wear a face of legitimacy? Shouldn't we as a people be appalled and demanding the press tell us what the hell is really going on? Don't they own us to report news of things that may affect our future? Why have we stopped demanding to know about these things and just settle for the gossip reporting of Trump's next tweet?

The triviality escalates when the media rehashes every comment Trump makes, taking it out of context usually. Trump responds with this back and forth, tag team, he said she said routine that makes the whole business resemble a schoolyard fight between children and embarrasses the hell out of me. Surely, you news people must have some real, relevant news you could be telling us instead of this horseshit.

It was the same when Bill Clinton was president and all the news talked about for a year was who the president had sex with. I never cared who he was screwing in private. I just wanted to know who he was screwing in public. Mainly us and our future taxpayers.

I can't take it anymore. I'm on mainstream media fast indefinitely until further notice and thanks for understanding. Starting today, I'm on a strict diet of guitar, coffee and joints and under no circumstances do I want to hear the word, Trump. Feeling better already.


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

watch vice news you guys. its real investigative journalism where they have real stories. and as for mainstream social media just breeds ridiculousness and haters along with all the fake ass people that are just pretending they have something important to say oh and the people who troll for posts about social issues and start fb wars.....gota love it. i gave up. all social media has ever done for me is cause problems in my relationship. i dont consider steemit in the category of those other websites because everything about this is different along with the fact that we dont have 13 year old on here and most the adults dont act like 13 year olds so it works for me.....for now

I figured its best to read all sorts of new see what overlaps and try my best to find out who is bsing. Omg is it hard I'm getting so tired of this alternative facts / so called fake news or even fake news. I'm fine with free speech but mofo's are taking it to a whole nother level a lie is a lie. Just because you call a lie something else don't make it okay it should be penalized.

The fcc would get all up in someone ass for saying f$%^ on the air but lets these people spew bs out they mouth constantly. Its should be treated the same way, hard for the people to be educated about things when you can't tell what is real anymore.

The whole MSM mess resembles a psyops operation to me. All designed to confuse the hell out of everyone and get us arguing about what is true or not true, meanwhile, forgetting to focus on the criminal activity our governments are indulging in.

Bingo! Nailed it in one!

Oh, and the 'news' is not 'forgetting' the criminal activity... they're the distraction crew while the thieves do their worst when we fall for the drama. It's on purpose because it makes them a bazillion bucks in the process.

It's collusion with the politicians of both sides, plus Wall Street and multi-national corps versus....

you 'n me.

We're outnumbered. We can't afford to be outsmarted.

I stopped watching TV, too much violence, sex, and horrible writers. Watching tv I had a subtle feeling of being manipulated traumatized and or bored out of my mind, like someone was trying to dumb me down or bury me in bullshit. And the news became entertainment, omg all the presidents I remember the tv spewing stuff like Monica lewnsky scandal, Bush Jr weapons of mass distraction. But I know people who kicked the TV out of their house back in the 60s.

We haven't owned a tv since 2006.

Love Zappa. TV sucks.
Have you heard this?
The Disposable Heros of HipHopricy out of Oakland, California.
Michael Franti, the singer now has a band called Spearhead
GREAT LYRICS IN THIS SONG

And he loves to go for Yoga in Bali and performs to the kids at school :)

Who, Michael? I've met him a few times and the last time I saw him play was at a friend of mine's house at a harvest party. He had his whole band playing right on the back deck and everyone danced on the lawn. Awesome times.

Yes ! MIchael Franti . I got a few photos from private really nice events in Bali. I need to write an article maybe at some point to post photos. Sweet guy !

Wow yoga in Bali, I want to go...🙏

Michael Franti has a great Yoga Retreat in Bali my friend manages.

Wow, that is hardcore truth, I've not listened to him, I'm going to now! Thank you!

This was his first group and then he started Spearhead with a much more peace and love vibe. I'm so glad he chilled out and is happy.

I was like him when the veils lifted from my eyes back in 2003. I understand his progression and I'm looking forward to listening to his music evolve. I can't wait to start exploring.

RIce & Beans :)

Red beans and rice and everything nice.

I am right there with you. MSN is a total waste of time, I trust The Corbett Report and Newsbud. I think that MSN goes after Trump for his trivial remarks and he is easily sidetracked, this will keep him from keeping his "promises." On the other hand, is it all a smoke screen to keep the rest of us in the dark while crap continues to happen behind the scenes? It is all a circus and I am sick of it. Don't even get me started on healthcare I pay $500.00 a month with a $6000.00 deductible and NO COVERAGE. I have to pay out of pocket for any of my medical needs. Before "Obama crap" I paid $185.00 for FANTASTIC coverage. It is legal thievery.

Word UP!!! Spring diet from damn gossip!!
I went to see some funk last night!
Will post it at some time.

Funk, the whole funk and nothing but the funk. In funk we trust!

Red beans and rice and everything nice :) will be my next subject line and story I guess :)

My friend books George Clinton :) Yes in 70's Fonk I trust to keep my mood high when I write 💃 and read all news.

We once opened for George Clinton at the Exotic Erotic Ball in San Francisco. What a show.

Good stuff, I stopped watching/reading the news a LONG time ago and miss nothing.

I wrote an article here months ago telling people to do the same, and why. https://steemit.com/life/@getonthetrain/why-you-need-to-stop-consuming-the-news

This is much more informative:

Bob Ross. I remember him.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25