You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reality Reduction: The 5 Media Conglomerates That Manipulate Reality & What We Know As "Truth"

in #news8 years ago

That's why I don't have a TV in my house. On the internet you at least have some influence about what you are feeding into your brain.
The one thing that I hate is people who say that they don't watch tv but when I confront them saying:
" You do. It's always on when I come visit."
reply: " Yea, it's on but I'm not really watching it, it's just to have something in the background."
I really don't know how to convince them that this is even worse.
If you actively watching it at least you have a chance to think about what you hear and maybe recognize BS. If it's just in the background you will most likely suck it in without thinking , then repeated lies will seem an obvious truth to you, you may even think that you came up with it yourself.
For everyone who read "The Brave new world" - its the same as a speaker under your pillow...

Sort:  

Yeah what you mention about people 'not watching TV' is something that we see quite often. My wife and myself mostly read, and we quit cable nigh a decade ago but once my Mother moved in she has 'her shows she wants to watch'. Ironically, she knows better but still "has to have her tv" as she often says. Your plight about not knowing how to convince someone resonates with me as well. Yeah the constant repetition of lies/propaganda does have an effect on people, even if they don't realize it. Heck, one could argue that because one does not realize it, it could be in fact more efficient.

Have read "Brave New World", but never saw anybody state the analogy you have. Sage words. Will have to keep that in mind. Appreciate the comment.

Even the phrases are similar "less stitches more riches" - "if you bought an item or two ,or ten for yourself" - like they are treating this book as a instruction manual, scary as s**t

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43