Can Anarcho-Capitalism Solve for OverHunting and OverFishing?

in #news7 years ago



I was out dove hunting this weekend, and it got me thinking about the Government's role in our lives. Most things are regulated well by the free market, but it seems to me "Fish and Game" are not. History has shown time and again that left to the free market some unscrupulous hunters/poachers will kill off more of a species than is environmentally appropriate. Without the use of force to back up Fish and Game regulations, they would be ignored. This seems to me the best argument I can conceive for minarchism over anarchism.

Private property goes a long way to prevent overhunting and overfishing. It's in my best interest when I own a lot of land to not over hunt it. I'm incentivized to ensure that, in an effort to gain top dollar, "over-lease" the land out to hunters. If I did so, there'd be nothing left to hunt and my income stream would dry up. I'm incentivized to maintain a healthy population.

But here's more food for thought, a few years ago when I had poachers on my hunting land, it took a family friend who was a retired game warden to notice the signs. Then, on top of that, it took a phone call to have wardens come out, stalk our property for the guy and bust him. I never would have noticed. The chance of a random encounter would be low even if I went out there every day. So, to play devils advocate with myself, private ownership of property is pointless if I can't watch it/protect it.

If the land is privatized and hunting rights are granted to individuals on the land, the property owner has an incentive to maintain the species population. Ironically, it's actually our desire to eat bison that's causing a resurgence in their population. Compare that to the myth of Native American environmental stewardship where they often did slash and burn and hunt something as common as the white-tailed deer to near extinction in some areas precisely due to the tragedy of the commons.

Anecdotally, something I've noticed growing up in the woods... Locals kill whatever the want anytime they feel like it. It's usually outsiders following the actual "limitations on prey" rules.

What are your thoughts?

libertyLOL's "Divide and Rule"
If you enjoyed, Please Upvote, Follow and Resteem!

Follow libertyLOL on your favorite sites:

Steemit blog
Facebook
Twitter
Reddit
Youtube
Tumblr
Instagram
Pintrest
Countable: Government Made Simple
Patreon
Gab.ai
libertyLOL's Liberty Blog RSS Feed

We also run a couple twitterbots which provide great quotes and book suggestions:
Murray Rothbard Suggests
Tom Woods Suggests
Jason Stapleton Suggests
Progressive Contradictions

Sort:  

I visited a discreet campsite where some young European, South American and Canadian immigrant workers that fashioned themselves as anarchists displayed what it would probably look like, and their site was unbearable. Worse than pigs. They didn't even bother to bury their excrement. In fact one pile had an oddly placed rock on top of the pile. Was it supposed to hide it? Some of the dumbest rudest "kids" I've ever met in my life. I can guess their political views and I can say they definitely hated Trump and voiced it. Minarchist is definitely need. Even if it's just the group leader encouraging his peers to bury their piles of shit. Smart leader recognize the need for courtesy and respect in the group, otherwise people act like Orks.

@libertylol Thanks for sharing :-)I am following
|
Best of Luck !.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79