You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alex Jones and my thoughts from over the years. More of the triangulation approach to news. Streisand Effect.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

@dwinblood Getting information from all sides and making your own opinion is key, which you touched on brilliantly! I agree on many things you mentioned but believe you are mistaken on a few things about Alex Jones and Infowars.

He has flip flopped/changed his stance a lot over the years which I have proven in this short video of the man himself

Here you can judge for yourself if he is fighting censorship or selling disinfo


BTW have you seen Alex even mention the new absurd anti-BDS legislation that could cost Americans up to ONE million and 20 year prison sentence just for supporting BDS.

Alex is just like CNN with his over the top propaganda for Trump, he's just the other side of the same coin. Just look at his praising of Trump's budget plan that completely ignores Trump's increase in military spending to claim "Trump will spend less". (for one example)

Which brings me to my 3rd point, how can you believe his a Patriot??? When he refuses to call out the blatant infiltrators whom receive bipartisan support. It's not like he's not aware, as he's touched on it in the past

Just because I have proven Alex to be misleading, unpatriotic and inconsistent, does not mean, I believe you should not listen to the man, but to do it with a massive grain of salt (just like CNN)

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks for the material. It'll take me a bit to get through it.

completely ignores Trump's increase in military spending to claim "Trump will spend less"

This is actually not true. Does he mention it every time they talk about the budget? No. I have however heard them bash the military spending before. I've also heard them not agree with Trump.

Also with the way the mainstream media is at the moment I do not blame him for his stance. I am not a Trump supporter, but if Jones and people like him were not speaking up I'd feel compelled to do so just to offset the obvious media bias that has been slanted heavily against him since before he was even elected and only intensified afterwards.

There is a clear double standard. NOTE: I did indicate I know Infowars is biased in my post. So that is not telling me anything new.

I haven't watched your flip flop video yet, but I'm going to bet it is missing context. Flip Floppers tend to pretend they never were the other way. I've heard Jones change his mind, and I've also seen him explain WHY. This is normal and is not flip flopping. Now if I were to leave out that explanation, or perhaps catch a clip later where he didn't rehash his explanation for his stance that was already explained elsewhere then it might seem to be flip flopping.

With that said he may indeed have flip flopped. I simply haven't seen it yet. I have seen him change his mind and explain why. This is human and only a FOOL refuses to ever change their mind.

@dwinblood It's quotes like "only a FOOL refuses to ever change their mind" why I have much respect for you! I saw fellow steemians spread Trump budget with Infowars source that didn't have anything about military expansion, but it is possible Alex has mentioned it and I missed it. Doesn't change the fact of InfoWars over support/propaganda for Trump

You may have touched on how bias he is, but I claim he is just as bias as CNN.

When you see undeniable video footage of someone flip flopping, thinking ahead of time it's "out of context" seems below you friend

You may have touched on how bias he is, but I claim he is just as bias as CNN.

Definitely not. He is not greenscreening and claiming to be in Iraq and Afghanistan.

He is not claiming to be on a conference with someone in another country to find out that both participants are actually simply standing in different places on the same parking lot.

He is not claiming to be at some huge feminist rally to only have someone snap a video on their cell phone showing a nice lit setup little square of pavement and using camera angles they make 10 people walking around in their boxed in area seem like a crowd.

He is also not using a teleprompter.

When you see undeniable video footage of someone flip flopping, thinking ahead of time it's "out of context" seems below you friend

I don't know that it was. I simply was playing devil's advocate. Also we all tend to go into things with some of our own internal bias. Many of those clips I saw would require internal bias looking for something that was not definitively there.

I also write to you as I am going. It kind of shares my thought process with you. So I can and do change my mind. I also saw it as giving you feedback... when you give me something that is a lot of different clips the only reasonable way I can respond is as I go, otherwise I likely won't remember certain things or be able to point out specific points in the video.

I figure you want honesty, which is what I am trying to give you.

@dwinblood Alex has claimed the FED is run by Muslims recently and Alex has claimed Arabs own Hollywood recently, but you're right he doesn't use a teleprompter! Is that a defense for making such idiotic statements? If you don't think that's as pathetic as CNN green screen (I surely do)

@dwinblood Alex has claimed the FED is run by Muslims recently and Alex has claimed Arabs own Hollywood recently, but you're right he doesn't use a teleprompter! Is that a defense for making such idiotic statements? If you don't think that's as pathetic as CNN green screen (I surely do)

I don't think it is as pathetic as CNN. I don't know anyone YOURSELF and MYSELF included that if we spoke as much as Alex does off the top of our head wouldn't say some stupid shit once in awhile. The teleprompter saves you from that. Hell in those cases they don't have to be even your own words. Your writing team can whip something up.

I don't view Alex as super human, so I expect mistakes a human would make. Especially when it is done on the fly.

If I am going to watch a fictional movie I'd like people to know their scripts. If someone is going to spout teleprompter babble at me I'd rather simply READ the script and save myself a lot of time. :)

@dwinblood Well we disagree on the level's of patheticness (I may have invented that word) and that's okay

The greenscreen and fabricating the scenes as though they were Iraq during an air raid and bomb sirens was 100% false and painted the entire thing as a LIE.

The same parking lot stating someone from New York was talking to someone in London (may not be the actual end points but they were far apart so I am using those for illustration) when in fact both parties were in the same parking lot was fabrication. It was a lie.

The setting up a stage to show a BIG protest that was in like a 10 meter by 10 meter box on the pavement taped off as though it was an actual protest was fabricated and a LIE.

Alex Jones saying something stupid, is Alex Jones saying something stupid.

So yeah I see a VAST different between the two things.

The CNN shit is planned and has a lot of budget behind it. There can be no excuse for it. It could only be knowingly done.

When Alex Jones says something stupid it generally wasn't planned.

So yeah, very big difference as far as I am concerned.

By the way... this image from your first video...

That is similar to the young turks "False Dichotomy". Implying that you either get it or you are a moron tries to force choices into either or. There are often other choices than that. They may meet those criteria and draw different conclusions. They may agree with you on some points or not others.

False Dichotomies are a pretty common appeal to emotion technique to try to get the person to agree with you as they don't want to be considered a "fool".

Yet people that recognize these things have a different reaction. It appears as a big red flag. "Uh oh this person is trying to force me to agree with them so I won't be considered a fool" Trying to be part of the herd, the in crowd.

I'm one of those that sees this as big red flag. I only share this because you made this video so at least by telling you about my PERCEPTIONS of this tactic it is something you might consider in future videos. Now most of the population doesn't know shit about critical thinking. This stuff works great on them. However, that changes a piece from being journalism and simply presenting information to being propaganda.

Part of my personal mission is to get more people aware of such things. So I hope you see this as POSITIVE criticism for your future efforts.

If money is your primary motive then keep it up. It seems to serve the young turks well.

If reason, rationality, and good journalism are your goal then this might be something to avoid in the future...

I'm off to continue watching...

@dwinblood Thank you for the well interpreted pointer and I wish to inform you I have also created videos on the Young Turks hypocrisy and ridiculous (bullshit) ridicule of Trump

Awesome. And while I may seem harsh. I am being honest. I respect your work. I figure if I give you my criticisms that can only make any future works you do that much better.

So don't take it as me attacking you. I do not mean it that way. I appreciate the time that you give me A LOT to digest.

I've explained in my last reply to your reply WHY I give you a running commentary as I watch. It is the only way I know to insure I don't miss a thought, or miss where the thought was at and what it was about.

That doesn't mean I might not change my mind by the end. So you basically are getting a play by play of my thoughts as I watch.

BTW have you seen Alex even mention the new absurd anti-BDS legislation that could cost Americans up to ONE million and 20 year prison sentence just for supporting BDS.

Nope I haven't seen it. I'll keep an eye open for it though. I haven't watched anything from him for the past two days. Too much work related and other stuff going on.

Alex is just like CNN with his over the top propaganda for Trump, he's just the other side of the same coin. Just look at his praising of Trump's budget plan that completely ignores Trump's increase in military spending to claim "Trump will spend less". (for one example)

I do see Alex as heavy on Trump support. Yet I ask you this. If he didn't what would that leave you? That would leave you pretty much 95% anti-trump propaganda day in and day out. I don't particularly care for Trump but I find myself having to push back because of how overt and slanted the news is.

Alex is just like CNN with his over the top propaganda for Trump, he's just the other side of the same coin. Just look at his praising of Trump's budget plan that completely ignores Trump's increase in military spending to claim "Trump will spend less". (for one example)

He actually has been calling them out the past couple of weeks. If you are speaking of the established senators/congressmen that clearly are all colluding and have been colluding regardless of party.

I tend to refer to them as the Neo-Con movement that infiltrated both parties simultaneously. Pretend to be against each other but all pushing the same agendas. A lot of them came into power during the Bush-Cheney years, and others that were there prior to that seem to have been "converted".

If those are who you are talking about I've actually heard him and others on his team calling them out.

So much of what he does seems to be REACTIONARY to mainstream, and only occasionally is before mainstream. In those cases it seems more as PREEMPTIVE. So not really LEADING the news... he is in a constant defensive stance would be my take on it. So many of his stories are reactions. Others are him attempting to PREEMPT and action he is sure is coming. It is very rare to see an Infowars original piece that is not one of those two things.

@dwinblood The anti-BDS legislation has been spoken a lot about in the alt-media for weeks now (just fyi)

As for 95% media anti-Trump well I would argue it's not that high (hense Fox News or most conservative channels) but I agree it's slanted in the big cable stations and I'm aware that's why so many are quick to defend/support Trump.

Are you aware that most of the alt-media were/are for Trump. The slant goes both ways really. The whole thing has really divided the public well

Are you aware that most of the alt-media were/are for Trump. The slant goes both ways really. The whole thing has really divided the public well

Yes, but the alt-media is on the internet. There is still a large portion of the voting population that never sees that side. They still only get their information from the television.

As to Fox... it is sometimes for Trump and sometimes against him. In some periods its been slanted against him as well. If you had to pick a mainstream outlet that sometimes does defend him it would be Fox.

I also have known Fox (Faux) news was not the best of sources for a long time. I do like John Stossel, and Judge Napolitano quite a bit that often appear on there, but that's about it and they are not on very often.

EDIT: What I am getting at is that a lot of it is the Established vs the Anti-Established. So yeah there is a fight. There is also some solidarity among alt-media which can inject bias.

but to do it with a massive grain of salt (just like CNN)

I do. I recognize no authority of anyone out there.

@dwinblood "I do. I recognize no authority of anyone out there." WELL SAID

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66