You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LEGO has just announced that they will release their first set of bricks made from "green plastic" later this year!

in #news7 years ago

Thanks for your great post. Lots of good information there. The cynic in me says that it's a PR greenwashing stunt, but really I think that may play only part. Their product has to be durable so they could never produce a Lego brick that will break down quickly. Fortunately most Lego bricks have a long life from the consumers who buy them. We've even had bricks past on through the generations. Single use plastic is much bigger problem I think. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Sort:  

You're welcome! I get why you might think that it is a greenwashing PR move, but I have faith in Lego, so I don't think you are right. As said in the post, they have already gone to great lengths to make their entire company run of only renewable energy already, so they obviously care about this stuff.

Fortunately most Lego bricks have a long life from the consumers who buy them. We've even had bricks past on through the generations. Single use plastic is much bigger problem I think. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Yeah, absolutely. I have some Lego myself that my parents got when they were children, and I'm going to be passing that along to my son soon. It's a very durable product.

Single use plastic is a huge problem, and by far a much bigger problem than Lego is, but I'm also afraid that it will be a lot more difficult to get these companies to invest into green plastic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67