You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: China is Trying to Solve Its Air Pollution By Turning Smog Into Diamonds

in #news8 years ago

Unfortunately, the tower is not working as they had planned. It only cleans in the immediate area and not a small village as they had hoped. They are now planning to just make it a memorial of sorts. Maybe newer versions will be enhanced.

Sort:  

yeah, probably in the future versions they will make it better. Technology is bound to improve.

I didn't think it would work. I think the energy requirements for producing artificial diamonds are quite high so it kind of negates the point unless they can find some clean energy source to do it with. I think we should look on it as more of a contemporary art installation:)

I read that it uses as much energy as a water boiler. Also, somewhere it was mentioned that it uses wind energy.
The idea of contemporary art installation is brilliant. The design is very nice, isn't it?

That's what I thought and some artists use art as a starting point for environmental ideas to get the conversation going. A bit like with sci-fi authors in the past.

Exactly. I was kind of surprised (I don't know why) to learn that an artist is leading an environmental cause. Maybe I am 'living in a well'

I've seen a lot of artists doing tech related things lately. They often come up with ideas that are so creative that nobody else has thought of them:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61