Why You Need to be a Little Skeptical about the News : 65 million BTC theft reported today here on Steemit.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

I don't know what led me to look more closely at the article. I don't know why I felt compelled to check the source for myself.

The headline read: Computer hackers steal bitcoins valued at $ 65.8 million

You can read the article for yourself, through the link below:

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@morinjesus/computer-hackers-steal-bitcoins-valued-at-usd-65-8-million

My interest was piqued, I imagine, since I've been here less than three weeks, and I'm newly involved with cryptocurrency. I also was concerned as should I ever acquire a stash of SBD and decide to do a little trading, I might be in the market to trade for BTC one day.

So to hear that there was a major hack or breach in Japan to the tune of $65.8 million caught my attention. And I wanted to find out, well if that was MY coin, would the exchange make good on what the cyberthieves made off with?

Even if only one BTC was mine, I'd want it back. I may not know a lot about cryptocurrency, but I do recall a little bit about Mt. Gox.

Well, my investigation never got that far. I searched online for this hack. Nothing. I went to the source referred to in the article. Nothing. I researched Typhoon Nida, and Eureka! I found my answer.

There was a hack...in 2016.

This is just one example of why you need to use your brain, use a little common sense, and retain a healthy dose of skepticism when you watch or read a news report.

A little humor for the seasoned traders, a word of caution to the novices, and .... a cup of coffee for me. Good morning!

And I'll just have to research who is left holding the bag when there's a loss - another time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51