Southwest Rapid Rewards Extends Double Points Promotion

in #news6 years ago

In early April I wrote about how Southwest Rapid Rewards introduced a double points promotion. Through that promotion you could earn double Rapid Rewards points for flights that were booked and flown between April 6 and June 13, 2018.

As noted by Deals We Like, it looks like this promotion has been extended. Southwest Rapid Rewards members can now earn double points when they register, book, and fly by June 30, 2018. So Rapid Rewards members have an extra two and a half weeks to earn these bonus points.


As a reminder, Southwest Rapid Rewards ordinarily awards 6-12x points per dollar spent, depending on the type of fare you book:


Southwest Rapid Rewards points can be redeemed for ~1.4 cents each towards the cost of a ticket on Southwest, meaning that this promotion offers an incremental return of ~8-16% on Southwest spend, which is solid. Points earned through this promotion don’t qualify towards A-List, A-List Preferred, or Companion Pass.

The previous promotion was launched just shortly before Southwest had its first ever fatal incident, which happened on Southwest Airlines flight 1380 on April 17, 2018. Since then, the airline has been reporting that bookings have been down, and that they’re even slightly scaling back growth.

Obviously that incident was incredibly tragic, though I am surprised that this had an impact on bookings at the airline. Or I guess I’m not, given how much media attention it got. I know the day after the incident my mom called me and reminded me that “all [my] flying is so dangerous” and “I beg you, please don’t sit by the window anymore.”

So at this point I guess it’s fitting that Southwest is trying to offer a promotion to keep people flying with them, and I wouldn’t even be surprised to see more promotions from them over the coming months.

Have you been taking advantage of Southwest’s double points promotion?

Source

[Read more articles like this]

Follow me to get real-time news updates on subjects that matter!

Visit https://jlk.news for truly global news coverage!

Check out our rich collection of RSS feeds for a personalized news experience!

Delegate part of your voting power to Minnowbooster and earn curation rewards while supporting minnows!

Discover SteemEngine: the best way to get Steem followers and votes. Easily increase your followers with SteemEngine.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jlk.news/uncategorized/southwest-rapid-rewards-extends-double-points-promotion

Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Please ask @patrice and his bot @mack-bot to stop flagging me. This kind of censorship is not only unfair to me, it is disrespectful to my 700+ followers. If you want to help solve this issue, contact me over stop-mackbot-censorship (at) jlk.news . Thank you!
Note: my true reputation is 45+. This was before @patrice's unjustified attack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77