Kraft's Giant Noodle has new home in Springfield, MO

in #news7 years ago

Image Source: Springfield News-Leader


For the past several years, I have called Springfield, Missouri my home. Springfield is also home to a number of interesting things like: an awful new show on TLC, Route 66, cashew chicken, Miller Cotton Tattoos, The Ozark Mountain Daredevils...and now a big piece of macaroni marketing that weighs about a ton and bears the words:

"You know you love it."


I think it is completely perfect. I don't even care that I'm a total sucker for the intended ploy of its placement.

Kraft-Heinz has had a plant in Springfield for over 75 years, and has been in its current locale on Bennett Street for over 60 years, and I actually had the pleasure(?) of living across the road from this factory for a couple of years.

I will tell you, the air of the entire neighborhood smells like the Kraft macaroni and cheese powder every few days.

We checked the apartment out on three separate occasions and didn't happen to catch the smell until our move-in day. Surprise!


I took this one...it was nighttime and raining and I was trying to avoid traffic in the road, so this one is about as good as I could do.

Anyway, I was driving around, and I noticed this gem sitting in the front lawn of Kraft, and soon after I noticed it, there was a slew of news articles and local media buzz surrounding this piece of macaroni now facing my former front window.

Apparently this Giant Noodle is a marketing project that's been going on and showing up at various Kraft-Heinz facilities since 2010, and things like this article are exactly the reason the noodles were installed in the first place.



For the full story on the specs of this damn thing, check out this article:

http://www.news-leader.com/story/news/business/2017/01/14/springfields-new-giant-noodle-harbors-no-self-doubt/96148404/


Sort:  

I JUST saw that the other day when I drove past it!

Isn't it fun? For a second, I wished I still lived in that little garden level across the road so I could look out at it every day. I'm probably too taken with it, but I think it's totally badass. LMAO

Not sure if this is too far back for you or not, but it's a bit reminiscent of the Solo Cup on Glenstone back in the day.

I loved that cup. RIP

In fact, they need to put the Kraft Noodle, the Solo Cup, the Chesterfield Fork, and the Art Museum Fries all in one place.

Totally agree....they would fit in perfectly next to the relatively-recently resurrected Giant Hamburg sign on Route 66. Sculpture park!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57