"The News Cycle" - Did You Sign Up For It? Or Just Turn On The TV?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago

I came across a Huff Post article recently titled "How to cope when sexual assault dominates the news cycle." Clearly an article aimed at the women posting the 'me too' status's of late. And possibly the men who might (or might not) feel like they may be one of these men.


I didn't bother to click on the link.....and to answer the question you just asked in your head, "am I a chauvinistic pig who doesn't care about women being sexually assaulted?", no, I am not.


google img

I didn't not click on the link because of the specific title. I didn't click on the link because it was attributed to how you should feel after/during watching a supposed news program. When you turn on your TV, are you searching out for specific details relating to something you thought about earlier in the day? Or are you turning the TV on, laying back, and being spoon fed whatever mouth vomit is considered relevant that day?

I have a few vices when it comes to television, and I am aware of them. The NFL (and my team) is probably the biggest one. But I know when I turn on (in my circumstances, Sling TV, or Amazon TV), that I am going to get a football game. When you turn on traditional news today, it is absolutely, 100%, trash. Choreographed like a David Copperfield show, they only show you what they want you to see.

I haven't watched main news networks for years besides in passing at a friends house or clients. But it is obvious to me to know who for sure does still watch this non-sense, as they just regurgitate the same crap over and over again.

So ask yourself the next time you turn on CNN or Fox, am I specifically looking for some type of answer to a question I have? Or am I just looking for a political figure head to read me some propaganda to back up my biases?

Sort:  

very correct and on point..cant agree more to your assertions on this post... thanks for sharing @intothewild
i also mentioned you on my post... hope you do not mind...

My last attempt at this pin wheeled foreverrrrrrrrrr....but no, I don't mind at all :) Thanks for the shout out!

Welcome great guy @intothewild
Also updated on similar issues...hope you haven't fallen victim to missing posts... 😎 Keep steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80