WTF work this Google Authenticator?

in #news6 years ago

Dear steem-bountiers

i would like to share with you as my best friends this issue i had with this Google Authenticator.
Last month my old smartphone stop to work and only yesterday i managed to find a new one.
So i switched on it and i select the option to restore my phone backup made on my google account.
At the end all apps was installed except Google Authenticator.
With it i had two sites connection that needs to confirm by using it to log in and when i installed again the Authenticator, these two sites was forgetted, even i put the new phone in the Authenticator settings, the new phone didn't got the codes from the sites.
So this is my doubt, is it possible i am in such conditions even i had backup this shit doesn't work?
Some body had such problem in the past and can give me good suggestion?

In the same time i would like to say thank you to @crypto.piotr which is delegating me 40 SP to help me to grown, so i hope to make him satisfy how i will use it to increase my task in order to grown Steem and Steem-bounty.

As usual i would support my beloved community of @steem-bounty.

Join the Club!
We have built a new service that will help you get upvotes using your own SteemPower.

Check out how it works and sign up here: https://steem-bounty.com/services/vote-club

Put a bounty on it

Make money and win bounties or Increase engagement using bounties:
www.steem-bounty.com

Please vote for our Witness
Thank you very much for your attention and we hope you will vote for steem-bounty as witness!

In order to do so you can go to:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

And enter the "steem-bounty" account into the text field and click vote.

Or use steem-connect to vote directly for @steem-bounty as Steem witness!

Sort:  

Hope this comment goes through (low rc) Yes i did have this problem and was locked out of sites i regained access by emailing the sites support about what happened and confirmed my identity to get my accounts back after that i have stopped using google authenticator app

The comment is coming my friend, it is exactly the same what happen to me...

I usually dont comment much but i had an argument with a lady and i didnt keep my rc in mind 😂😂

That kinda defeats the purpose of two factor authentication and quite a few exchanges recommend Google Authenticator. However this is nit the first time google fails to intergrate products and back it up to the cloud. With lower end products i find it dows not even sync data from desktop to mobile for the same account.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear my friend, but if they countinuosly fail they have to pay some how, why i should have such problems? If it happen to my company i have to pay for my fault, why for them all is allowed?

hi @mimismartypants

I just had a chance to look at your profile and I noticed that you're a digital marketer. It made me curious. Anything related to blockchain and crypto?

Yours
Piotr

I was having some issues with GA also. Sometimes it just needs to be resynced from the settings option.

But when you change the phone, do you know how to get it back?

I never ran into that issue yet.

@intellihandling has set 3.100 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

my had also this issue i had with this Google Authenticator.
I use my google account Backup and It has not been restored.
my Google Authenticator also lost.
So , Now ,if it use Google Authenticator to verify the website with I would give up it.
I only use mobile phone SMS to verify the website
There is also 2FA is telegraph verify or email verify.

Dear my friend, so you confirm this is an issue from Google, how it can be acceptable this shit? Just because they are Google and they can do everything?

I don't know if it is my problem (I won't use it) or his problem.
I had no get help, I had let my friends help me. They also failed.
Ask the official, only official automatic reply.
So I gave up the Google validator.
Only use 2FA verification , is phone or email or telegram.
Many website 2FA use Google validator, that website Convenience, but We will be troubled in the future
Because Google validator doesn't recovery me, my friend has failed, no one has recovered successfully.

Oh! My friend sorry about your situation.

I read so many situations like this in the past and this made me curious such that I had to backup my Google authentication password and keys to every account that I linked.

But when I did change my phone two months ago, I simply had to login on the app and everything came to normal.

BTW, what were you using? the website or mobile?

My experience is with the mobile app and that is what I am using.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear my friend, of course i was using mobile due to smartphone problem, maybe you change phone with same brand or you did not use google backup because it's sound me strange you are the only one get back authenticator as before...

I've also had issues with Google Authenticator for 2FA which is why I like to use microsofts version i've had fewer issues with it. Both are not full proof and you're better off using an SMS 2FA.

This app 2FA is great for sites where you doing constant quick transactions, if you're a long term hodler id say use SMS

Thank you my friend, you are another confirm of the shit is this Google work, even Google + it has betray all users, but they are Google, they can do whatever they want...:(((

Sorry to hear about your issue. I am very dubious about using anything related to google, not easy I know. I recently reloaded my phone due to a software malfunction. Believing I had everything backed up to my account. When I came to reload, do you think I could find the back up. Nope nowhere to be seen. But hey thats life and I didn't die from it. I wish you well. Some nice helpfull comments here as well. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Google is the result of globalization and of course big company like them eat smaller and take the control of market, so sometime you have no choice, especially when we are talking about security matters...:((

Hi @intellihandling

Thanks for sharing your story with us. I never really had an issue with google auth, partly because I do not use mobile at all. I hope you will manage to solve your problem my friend.

As usual i would support my beloved community of @steem-bounty.

I've noticed that you are strongly promoting steem bounty. I found out about them from you and Im using them since then. Thanks bduddy

ps.
Did you ever considered using enter from time to time? :) It would made it a bit easier to read your publications.

Also check out my latest post ;) You may like my new idea of building engagement within our little community. Yours, Piotr

Obviously upvoted.

Yours
Piotr

Dear Piotr, of course i am looking your pubblications as you choose me for delegating some SP, thank you to believe in me...

I also begin to have trouble on one of my phones, cant login in Google services and nothing help ... what is your phone model?

Dear @kobusu, my old phone was an Asus zenfone and new one is Alcatel 1, anyway both have android and the backup and restore on my google account was successiful, but only authenticator did not get restored and i do not know why...:(((

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66