You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: China Banning People From Transit for Bad "Social Credit" Scores

in #news7 years ago

Thanks @lobaskin, I'm glad you found it interesting. And yes, nobody understands China (I included) except those who are in the real know
I've met some very interesting people in my time in Beijing and they've certainly blown away all of my previous prejudices and misconceptions about China and Chinese civilization (I know James hates using that word in relation to groups of people and their ideologies; but if there is such a thing as Western civilization then China is certainly its Eastern homologue and has been for over two thousand years, that's for sure)

One thing I can say for sure is Americans who come to China don't ever really begin to scratch the surface... Indeed, the cultural barrier is great. I think you'd be right in saying that many Americans (even those who've lived in China) do have a hard time seeing Chinese people as fully human beings... And certainly the reverse would be true for many Chinese seeing non-Chinese as fully human...

I hope both sides would have a moral concern about killing each other... Especially civilians...

But Chinese could very easily be manipulated by "dehumanizing" propaganda... 20 years ago most non-Chinese were seen as awesome and fantastic in China... But in recent years a demonization campaign has certainly been playing out... For sure, regardless of color/race/religion, there is a lot of xenophobia in China (And the USA mind you...)

Do I often post about Chinese society and life here?

Actually no, I never really do, for fear of attracting unwanted attention... The last thing I want is for the Chinese to want me out of their country at this stage.

I shouldn't even write this comment LOL

Sort:  

And certainly the reverse would be true for many Chinese seeing non-Chinese as fully human...

Gweilo = cantonese for foreign devil, lol . when I lived in HK, I always heard that word used in a 'non respectful' tone

(maybe it was just my imagination, but that's the only place I ever 'felt' racial prejudice against me)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60323.94
ETH 2395.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54