Mommy Fiona and her 2 babies, April 18th 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago


I went to Vigan earlier this afternoon and came home to this!!! Everyone's question is this, did you even know that Fiona is pregnant? Nobody knew. 

How would one know if a hedgehog is pregnant? I've got no clue. Besides, as far as we know, Fiona hates Shrek. They even have separate rooms/cages. 

My nephew who's visiting from Manila wanted to see them and opening Fiona's cage, they saw these 2 tiny, bitsy hedgehogs beside their mother. Were they even born today? Oh dear!

A hedgehog gestation is normally 35 days. 

Only? We've had Fiona and Shrek since only last December. I don't think my niece who bought them even knew that they can have babies this soon. But never mind, we love baby hedgehoggies! 

Another thing, a mommy hedgehog can have one or even 11 litters when giving birth. BUT can only be pregnant once a year. 

Poor Shrek! He'll be alone from now on...unless we'll get him a mistress?


http://hedgehogworld.com/content.php?138-General-Breeding-Information

All images are mine and are originally cropped, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

That's the case with my friend's hedgehogs. They don't want to be together, too. Unfortunately, the other one died. I hope that doesn't happen to yours. And congratulations! When's the baby shower? LOL. Just kidding. Nice post!

i read that the father might eat the litters..as well as pregnancy can only happen once that's why they need to separate :)

am sorry, why are your replies being flagged?
ive just read about those actually :)

Such a cute story :)

Haha I know..I've stressed the mom i think when taking their pics :)

I bet you did :) I wish I could see this with my own eyes

Get a couple? they're easy to look after :)

I am a gypsy and move around too much :) I can't attach again. I still have many cats and dogs back in Bali

Lives we lead are interesting to be in only one place :) Will you be going back to Bali??

they are but we can't touch them yet :)

They're really cool to look at!

they look flat @richq11..i hope they'll live.

They look ok in the pictures... I'm sure Momma will take good care.

She sure does already..so tiny :)
You've seen our new puppies??

so sweet family!!!! wow, they are very awesome ^_^

thank you..they can still be together one day, not just yet :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28