A Philippines' first, a college in Davao City JailsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: photo credit to BJMP XI, a screenshot i took in facebook March 22, 2017

This is just one of my feeds in facebook this morning.

For us Filipinos, it's quite exciting to see the ongoing changes in the Philippines right now, which unfortunately the world doesn't always know of due to misinformations or selective reporting that is coming out of the Philippines. I can try to post here in Steemit as it reached me, if I may.

Under the Duterte administration, basically a school is being built inside a prison in Davao City. Under construction inside Davao City Jail, it can accomodate about 200 prisoners who wish to pursue their college education.

Information Technology & Social Science-related Courses

Offering 5 courses, classes is expected to begin in June of this year.

This project is being overseen by the Jail Superintendent together with the University of South Eastern Philippines (USEP).


https://m.facebook.com/groups/201091863245952?view=permalink&id=1381140331907760&fs=2&ref=m_notif&notif_t=group_highlights

Sort:  

This is how you rehabilitate inmates. Yes you can take college courses through U.S prisons, but it's not as simple as walking down the hall.
Perhaps when these private prisons stop seeing inmates as a number in their stock portfolio something like that will happen.

There's no private prisons in the Philippines, i doubt there'll be one. this can just be an extension of the university in Davao since the college bill involves free college tuitions for those who are qualified.

The U.S. has no shame in their Capatalism. They care not where the dollar comes from just so long as it lands in their pocket.
However they are in the works of deprivatization.
I care more about the fact that the Philippines a long with so many other countries, even those considered third world have free access to continued education and in America student loans are one of the biggest depts in our nation.
As a fellow convict of crimes committed many years ago I can speak with certainty that U.S. prison aren't looking to rehabilitate inmates. There for, I was paying homage to the Philippines for actually helping their inmates turn over a new leaf and giving them options upon their release.
I've been out of prison for seven years and still have a difficult time finding work. I would've given anything to have been able to get a decent education to provide me with help after my release. Instead I get to shell out thousands of dollars.a year to pay for my education.

The College Bill have just been passed for free tuition fees in public colleges and universities, though it may not apply to every schools. This schooling in prison is our first so we will see..as for jobs after, employers in the Philippines are very choosy on who to hire. But this is a big step. President Duterte's administration are planning loads for the betterment of Filipinos so we shall see.

Even if only some of the schools are free that's still pretty amazing!
And I know all about choosy employers. My criminal background and the fact that I'm covered in tattoos (professionaly done) has kept me from acquiring a vocation of stature due to the highly religious (Mormons) running the city, which brings with it a certain type of people who are typically closed minded by majority and the mistakes I made when I was younger have given to me the only option, but school. Which was always the plan anyway.
I come from a family of means so I'm fortunate enough to be able to afford college. Most are financially incapable, and if they do some how find a way, which can be found if one works hard and knows how to jump through the hoops our government will give you a little help, but not enough to make a substantial impact.
Now if they had colleges in prison, I think any government would be surprised at seeing how many people didn't come back.
Sociologically it is more commonly the under educated who commit crimes. And many are doing so because they have no other means of income.
I also think a lot of people would be surprised at how intrinsically good natured a lot of those deemed criminals actually are. Most people have good intentions they just get lost along the way, so nurturing that side of their humanity with education instead of leaving them to live in the constant fear that is controling the emotions presently.
I wish more than anything I could've started college in prison, but I had no help then.

You're luckier than most..if you dont mind me saying so.All i can say is that it's getting brighter in the Philippines under President Duterte contrary to what it's coming out from the media.He is for the poor and common Filipinos, including those prisoners and drug addicts who want to be helped. There never was a president like him that the people are working with him,supporting him.
If you read my post re: Ifugao rehab camp,something like that came to being only with the present administration. If the prisoners want to change,they will be helped.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thank you..it's a recognition :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52