My Suggestion To SteemIt For Payments

in #news8 years ago (edited)

I read four posts yesterday about the controversy involved with the price of steem and steem power and witnesses. I can't find the link now and I wish I could because this poster said that witnesses weren't involved as much as he wanted and he wished they made less. I may be unpopular for saying this, but I can't tell someone to hold something, so a witness or person who receives steem as a payment may choose to sell it. Free markets!!!

I feel most of us agree that steem dollars are the best deal of the three and they've kinda held their value while the other two have not. I sure hope steem power is worth something in the future, but I think we all kinda feel like this won't be the case.

Unless I'm doing something wrong, I can't earn a full amount of steem dollars in a post, even though that is probably what will hold its value over time. It also makes more sense to give people the option to just get steem dollars because it encourages developers to build payment systems with this currency so that we can shop! Selling items in steem dollars is ideal, though they still need to work a little on their price-fixing since it isn't always one dollar (I think it's like 83 cents right now).

My take is that no one can force any member to hold onto steem, especially a witness. Since this author pointed out they earn A LOT OF STEEM, it's within their right to hold, sell or give it to others. We can disagree when they sell, but that's their choice. My take is since they may rather sell the steem, let users decide if they want to earn more steem dollars to retain their value.

There may be reasons this isn't happening, so feedback is welcome if this restricts the system. This is just how I feel, I'm no expert, lol!

Image from postimg.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45