You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tehran Condemns Washington’s “Maximum Pressure Campaign” as Economic Terrorism

in #news5 years ago

This article contains direct quotes from Iranian Foreign Minister Zarif including, “If the United States decides to cause so much pain on the Iranian people by imposing economic warfare, by engaging in economic terrorism against Iran, then there will be consequences.” That's not the author's opinion - it's a fact.

Sort:  

@hulabugger Hello again,

I absolutely do not wish to argue with you, and I do care about the economic concerns of the citizens of Iran.

I'm sure he did say what you quoted there. However, economic "terrorism" is an inappropriate term for the actions that the US has taken. Although the Irianian leader might have used the term loosely, in her article she mentioned it in non-quoted areas. This is the issue.

Economic sanctions are not something I necessarily agree with but calling economic sanctions "terrorism" is quite a stretch from reality. That would be like calling someone that downvotes another person an economic terrorist...

I consider perpetual demonetization to be a form of financial censorship. However, not "economic terrorism" in any way. That is excessive terminology.

Economic sanctions are primarily embargoes and tariffs. They can be problematic for nations that are highly dependent on outsourced products/services. Personally, I dislike the idea, but I won't go around calling a nation's government a terrorist organization for such an act. It is very different from exploding a random shopping mall full of civilians.

Okay, the author should have used quotation marks. I agree that Zarif probably should not have called sanctions "terrorism." I think he actually had it right the first time when he called sanctions "economic warfare."

I fully agree with your statement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60