You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Minute Steem News Powered by Dtube 10-05-2018

in #news6 years ago

Nobody wants the absolute bottom of hypothetical comment basket from other "Tubes" yet they are inevitable if this platform will grow large enough. For now on the other hand we have another extreme which is near sterility. Vast majority of users are not engaging with creators, large majority of creators are not engaging with what is supposed to be their community a.k.a consumers of their content. If someone from the outside come to d.tube via shared link or embedded video somewhere else and sees this desert of nothingness in the comment section their first thought might be "wow it is dead here" and put this site aside as mere repository of backup uploads from Youtube like Dailymotion is at this moment and never come back. Their other reaction might be "this must be extremely moderated, commenting cost money (because they see dollar signs next to existing few comments)" which is inevitably followed by "why bother creating my account". This is not good at all.

Of course I am not saying people should comment just for sake of commenting but if you watch 10 videos a day and you really REALLY like OR dislike one of them, leave feedback.

Sort:  

mere repository of backup uploads from Themtube

I never realy consciously considered that one but now that you mentioned it, I've had that exact thought myself.

I'm personally going to try and make more comments.
I still feel cheap using the "Nice Job!" but I can see why even that is better than nothing.

This conversation has given me new ways of thinking about an issue. It's a perfect example of what I think these post comments are supposed to be about.

I thank you for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89