Longboard Race Season Has begun! Longboarding Gets News Coverage!

in #news7 years ago

LONGBOARDING IN THE NEWS

As longboarding is growing, we are getting more and more coverage on the news. This is an event called Tame the Taipan out of Australia, where riders hit speeds of 90 - 100 km/h! It's the Australian National Championship, which is part of the IDF world championship. IDF is the International Downhill Federation, which also covers luge boards, downhill roller blades, and other gravity based sports.
Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 9.13.09 AM.png

I always love how new anchors react to longboarding, like we are insane for doing what we do, which we are, but motorcycles reach much higher speeds than we do! Mind you they have brakes, where as we have to do a controlled slide/drift to control our speed, or stop.

Sometimes longboarders get on the news without it being about any event, such as Zak Maytum. He did what is called a raw run, which is a solid video with no cuts, of him breaking 70mp/h down some Colorado mountain road. The news played it on tv, with news anchors freaking out, and remarking about the sparks flying from his hands. This of course was because he put flint in his slide pucks, which is a important part of longboard safety gear. Mind you even I sweat a bit watching his video, he's fast as fuck, and has huge balls.

Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 5.59.22 PM.png

please note I do not own any of these videos, I was just inspired to write this when I saw the first video

CHECK OUT THE LONGBOARD DANCE SERIES

https://steemit.com/tutorial/@howweroll/learn-to-longboard-dance-first-lb-dance-lesson-on-steemit

https://steemit.com/tutorial/@howweroll/longboard-dance-lessons-ep-2-sbd-giveaway-to-celebrate-200-followers
More videos soon, I'm just very busy, so the editing is going slow.

Longboarders Unite!
Join our Discord Chat
or Facebook page: Longboarding on Steemit

LONGBOARDING ON STEEMIT6_o.jpg

Sort:  

I've been to a few lonboarding events here in Australia ( to watch) ... they are so hectic!! I still have trouble foot breaking on the flat! Lol

Yeah I saw some people take some serious tumbles yesterday. Can't find the video tho.
Learning to stop is the most important thing to learn about going fast, or handling hills. It took me years to work up to where I am now, but even I am not at this level, nor do I want to be at this level. I'm happy to go slower and not have the spills that these guys take.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77