Conspiracy Theorists and Complete Wackjobs (Las Vegas Shooting)

in #news7 years ago (edited)

171002-vegas-shooting-tease-njs-736a.nbcnews-ux-1080-600.jpg

We're living in interesting times. Social media has made our ability to share information and opinions with eachother at lightning pace.

With the luxury of the various platforms we now have to communicate with people around the world, we're not solely reliant on traditional media news outlets to get all of our information anymore.

The birth of the internet has been vital in allowing people around the world to share and expose how corrupt various controlling organizations are and have been. The internet and social media have been vital in exposing misinformation and would be propaganda from governments and the media alike.

There's no denying politicians and governments lie and try to manipulate the public thru various means however..

Social media has also empowered the birth of arm chair investigators. Conspiracy theorists who in their spare time formulate their own explanations for almost any event that takes place nowadays. They come up with their own explanations for everything, often times looking past truths or fact to satisfy their own agendas.

While I feel it's important to question everything we're told, not everything is a conspiracy. I'm already tired of hearing all the various Las Vegas shooting plots from all the "experts" here on Steemit and YouTube.

It seems with the power we have now to share our opinions and thoughts with others, it's led to a wave of arm chair investigators coming out of the woodwork and motivating others to share their wacko theories. They encourage others and try to sway rational thinking people into believing their theories too.

It seemed like hours after the Las Vegas incident there were trending posts from people already saying the U.S government was behind this or the shooter was working with the CIA. That's just two of the theories I've read so far.. there were far more.

These same people jump on every shooting it seems to blame everyone except the shooter, like every haneous act ever carried out was formulated by the government to control the people or mislead us for whatever reason they sumize?

And that's if the shooting ever happened..

Sometimes mass shootings in America are even denied altogether. Like dead bodies and grave sites are completely made up by controlling forces are fabricated just to mislead us or advance whoever's agenda.. it's honestly tiring to see it all the time.

There's not a conspiracy behind every terrible act that takes place on American soil people! Sometimes wackos just hurt people for no reason.

While we always want an explanation as to why, sometimes motives aren't so easy to find.

Humans are flawed creatures, the brain is incredibly complex and fragile. A man can gun down 53 people for no apparent reason, that doesn't mean we're being lied to or it was a part of a bigger act by a goverening body to control the public like sheep.

While I don't claim to know all answers I am capable of rational thinking and I know the police, CIA and FBI can't share all the information with the public. That doesn't mean we're being lied to or they're withholding information for their gain it's part of the process of an investigation. They need to play their cards close to see if they can find the motives of those involved or find out if it's part of a bigger plot?

While it would be nice to have up to the minute disclosure of all the evidential information that's just not how it works. They can't tip off criminals and show all their cards right away.

Again I'm not saying it's not out of the question to believe that Stephen Paddock was working on behalf of others, but I'm not going to jump to conclusions or try to share my opinion yet, because like I stated I'm not an expert and it's still too early for me to formulate my own plot.

As bad as it is for authoritys to not be completely upfront with the public, in my opinion it's also just as bad to share misinformation or come up with our own theories and spread them to others like we're more informed than others in the case.

Again it's vital to question what were told and to not take everything released by the media at face value.. but I can't believe every shooting that happens is a result of the U.S government or people trying for tighter gun control.

Sometimes mentally unstable people just commit terrible crimes.

Remember this gentlemen came from a messed up family. His dad was a criminal, in interviews his own brother seems a bit off, the guy was a loner. Just those three facts make me hesitant to blame anyone else but himself until I see hard evidence that leads me to question otherwise.

I've also read that alot of shooters are prescribed anti depression pills and people have tried to blame the pills on the acts. Isn't it easier to think mentally ill people would be more apt to be prescribed those medications just for the fact they're people with mental problems? That would make it more apparent individuals involved in these kind of events would naturally have a higher chance of being on anti depression meds.

Stay challenging what were told, ignore me if you want I just felt I had to vent. Not everything we're told is a lie and not everyone is out to get us. That's a terrible way to live and a sickness aswell in my opinion.

I expect alot of negative feedback from this but I'm just sharing my opinion, same as conspiracy theorists share theirs.

Have a great day people!

@goldenarms

TEAMCANADA-GENERICFOOTER.png
Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

I'm going to both agree and disagree with you here.

I totally agree that there are a lot of wacky theories being thrown about and of course not every event is a conspiracy theory. Also, I appreciate that you're not jumping in while we still don't have that much information to work with to form an informed opinion.

However, I also believe that many of the most out-there claims are actually disseminated for the purpose of making anyone who challenges the official story look like a nutcase.

For arguments sake, if there was a conspiracy (a group acting to conspire together) involving multiple shooters for the purpose of terrorizing the US population, the covert operation would need a cover story. IF, the cover story (depressed lone gunman) starts to fall apart, and the population continues to poke holes in the story provided to them by the authorities, then it would be beneficial to stoke the flames of the conspiracy to make them the most outlandish as possible. In this way, 'conspiracy theories' can be lumped together and marginalized.

Again it's vital to question what were told and to not take everything released by the media at face value...but I can't believe every shooting that happens is a result of the U.S government or people trying for tighter gun control.

You make a very good point here and I also agree in part. I think that the predicted outcome of mass shootings is to refocus the public's attention.

  • To distract from other issues
  • And to Reset or Recast people into their partisan positions

Distract and Divide, perhaps.

Edit - Forgot to mention that I love the picture of the cops taking cover and the smartphone zombies just standing around... is that a real photo?

Yeah I 100% agree with your reply, we need ppl challenging what we're told by the media. I didn't mean to label everyone that does as being a wackjob, I have seen and read some rediculous things though and alot of times it's from the same people. The photo was chosen because i hadn't seen it before and it wasn't too graphic. I couldn't find a proper credit for it so I can't say of it's legit? It appears to be and would anyone be surprised if bystanders pulled their phones out while police were ducking for cover? lol Thanks for your well thought out reply!

Sometimes tragedy is just tragedy. Followed.

Thanks @coldsteem for stopping by

I have to agree with you. I don't love that everything that happens is linked to conspiracy. It might be, but it might not be. LIke you said human beings are screwed up and some more than others. It sucks and this guy, I am glad he is dead (sorry to say), but he killed and injured so many people! But when it comes down to it, there is a reason he did it. That's his reason. He still had a life and he ended it for this. So no matter what he was screwed up in one way or another and that's what we should be focusing on.

Nicely said mate, fully agree with you here.

Hey well thx for being my only commenter here @bmj lol this post was a bust! I feel better tho 🙌

This post has been resteemed by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations @goldenarms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I agree not everything is a conspiracy. I also think the whole story about this guy being a lone gunman is fishy at best. Possibly there were others involved and in the name of national security they are keeping it quite? Maybe the "shooter" wasn't even the shooter at all? I would like hard evidence like hotel cameras showing stuff like him setting up the cameras outside his room. I don't think we will get that though. I do a lot of shooting and I just can't wrap my head around the two window thing. From 400 yards you are not gaining any advantage from those two angles at that distance. But it is entirely possible he did do it and was just wacked out, but I think we the people deserve some proof that could easily be provided if they chose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80