You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Huge Facebook Censorship Purge Enacted As Atlantic Council/NATO Partnered Social Media Giant Removes Over 800 Alternative Media Accounts

in #news6 years ago

Hey, @clarityofsignal.

Well, this is indeed alarming. Even without any connections or ties to these organizations, it's disturbing. I wonder, in their official statement about the removal of the accounts, what constitutes "spamming?" Multiple posts a day about politics? And how are they making money with it? Links to other sites?

Just one more thing to add to the Facebook funeral pyre. They jumped the shark a while ago. Now it's all downhill.

Meanwhile, up until just recently, I've had a section pop up any time I would log into Facebook telling me that because I manage other pages, I need to give them a couple of phone numbers or some other verification to prove who I am, or what I post on those pages will end up on my personal page.

I even tried to give them the verification, but when they wanted another phone number, which I don't have to give them (unless it's my wife's cell phone number, which I refuse to do), it won't let me complete the verification. I decided I wouldn't do it. Within the last day or so the warning has disappeared and I'm still able to publish on the other pages.

Sort:  

When you get right down to it they are willing to take the risk at this point because Facebook is really where moms, dads and grandparents are getting their news. Its taken the place of AP stories in the local paper. They couldn't afford to risk the truth getting out anymore......because, whether they like it or not, it keeps coming.

My theory is that they used the fact that the publics attention is focused on the hurricane damage in Florida's Forgotten Coast to quickly enact this today, likely in collusion with the CFR and Atlantic Council. Its a well-coordinated effort and Twitter banning is happening in sync on many of the same accounts. Its notable that accounts that are being censored are on both sides of the political aisle and are ones that have focused on the truth about the wars overseas, media perpetuated divisiveness stateside, and libertarian issues such as police brutality, marijuana legalization, freedom of speech and citizen rights.

The complicit media, which no longer does real reporting and simply acts as trumpeting stenographers for the Deep State, is portraying this as a necessary purge against poor victimized Facebook and its millions of users. Its all a ruse, just like Russiagate. Its all about keeping the public in the dark and the Powers That Be in control. Those moms, dads and grandparents have to be kept sheltered from the truth.

The more the technology is developed to provide avenues that can lead to freedom and truth, the more that technology is bent or countered to enslave. We're at least beginning to live 1984. It really bugs me. I love technology, and I wish I didn't have to worry about this filtering, sifting, banning, cancelling and collecting and selling of personal data.

I'm sure many people wouldn't notice, regardless. Most people are probably getting fed up with the fighting back and forth that the vocal minorities on both sides are doing, and just want to provide for their families without being pulled into a war of disinformation. Unfortunately, doing that only allows it to continue.

Facebook, sad to say, really could have potential for greatness. To bad it's getting in its own way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53