You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stephen King and the Proliferation of Fake News

in #news7 years ago

Interesting, so I looked it up on Google the best I could find was this from the World Economic Forum:
Last year (in this case last year was 2015), a study estimated that around eight million metric tons of our plastic waste enter the oceans from land each year. Japan catches about 5 million metric tons a year, so you are right Mr. King's data is wrong. I know for a fact that the plastic used on six-packs is especially dangerous for small fish. So despite Mr King's tweet being wrong we do have to find a way to discard plastic in a safe way.
But yes, I think Mr. King's tweet was fake news so I agree with you.

Sort:  

Exactly. He's not wrong on the intent, just the data. I can't for the life of me find where he got the idea, unless it was just misreading that Guardian article.

As such, he does a disservice to the cause. If you want to convince people to care about something, at least respect them enough to do it with truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64