Elvis and UFOs - Has Mainstream Media Gone Mad?

in #news6 years ago

Funny thing about my parents getting a divorce ... they only agreed on two things during my entire life: Elvis and UFO's.

True story.


Image Source

I don't know the specifics of their collective sighting but having been raised by parents who divorced when I was very young, I heard the same story, separately, from both sides growing up. Even my grandmothers agreed, adding to the mystery. I'd even been told of a long lost aunt who was committed for mental reasons due to the sighting. All this occurred long ago, back in the early sixties, from my guess. I'll also bet it was in or near Miami, probably in the Everglades. My father was a fisherman.

I wish now I had asked more questions.

I don't believe in UFOs, myself. I've never seen one. Of course, there are many things that I have not seen that I do believe. I believe in angels. I believe in Jesus. I believe in the Holy Spirit, to name a few.

As far as aliens. Yea. Not so much.

Today, I read a fabulous post by @caitlinjohnstone entitled MSM Keeps Reporting About Space Aliens All Of A Sudden, And It's Weird .

It is a great read. Be sure to check it out. Her astute analysis is great. Here is a favorite clip:

"The mass media propaganda machine is very busy. It's got wars to manufacture consent for, it's got Russia to lie about, it's got a CIA-packed midterm election to sell as healthy democracy, it's got end-stage ecocidal neoliberalism to disguise as freedom and sanity, and it's got a corporatist oligarchy to dress up as a constitutional representative republic. How is it finding the time to talk about space aliens so much all of a sudden?"

She is right. That is a very good question.

Why?

my.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58