You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fraternity Membership Increases Earnings 36%, Drops GPA .25; Beer Off The Hook - (aka) "He Tried This One Trick And Gained 36% Income While Drinking Whatever He Wanted!"

in #news7 years ago

True, I think it is with all clubs. If you join a club you easily meet now people who may introduce you to other people.

And so the networking effect begins :)

P.S. you are one of my favourite Steemians I dont understand why your earnings sometimes are so low!!

Sort:  

"P.S. you are one of my favourite Steemians I dont understand why your earnings sometimes are so low!!"

Aw, thanks!

It seems to me that engagement on Steemit is pretty low at the moment. I think a lot of people are using auto-voters, and hype has died down since the hard fork and price run-up.

I would like to see some large changes to voting and curation to realign incentives with manual, human curation. However, I haven't seen much support for any of my past suggestions. I haven't exactly seen resistance either; there's more of a general air of apathy, which would again be reflective of the slow period I referenced above.

I think this makes it a tough time to attract new readers and interaction, but I am hoping that persistence will amount to "putting in my dues". I see my followers numbers increase everyday, and they seem to go up faster than I presume my old followers become "dead" (inactive, or stop logging in and voting).

To be honest, this sort of quiet lull is the sort of thing I would expect to see before a sudden jump in price or other big news. I'm confident in Steemit as a platform and I continue to try to free up more money to add to my Steemit wallet.

I have the same feeling. And if a post has a lot of votes, it feels like people are just upvoting because they know that user is popular.

I agree the rewards system should be changed. I know you have been very vocal about this. What were the best solutions you have found? I kinda got lost in all the post (Steemit also needs a page/comment saver).

EDIT: found your post :)

Indeed it is to be expected that after a hype it cools down a bit. However, I have faith in Steemit. Their current reward system, may attract many money-hungry people, but I believe the system has done a good job to keep many people engaged.

Luckily, this is still Beta. A lot of room for improvement :)

"people are just upvoting because they know that user is popular."

Unfortunately, this is exactly what the current curation formula encourages.

"Their current reward system, may attract many money-hungry people, but I believe the system has done a good job to keep many people engaged."

Long-term, this looks very promising to me too. You can tell from my wallet I believe in it.

Haha I certainly can see you managed to accumulate a good amount :)

True, although I bought the vast majority of it on the way down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43