You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real-Life Robocop Starts Patrolling The Streets Of Dubai Today!

in #news7 years ago

Things like this scary me the most
Ethically speaking it is a disaster, how can we allow to be judged by a programmed being without any concerns about safety?
It seems to me like a pretty fascist move for Dubai, and to the people that are in favor of this technology I would say to just wait to be on the opposite side of the blackjack, you can't talk nor reason with a machine

Sort:  

Good point. I think that's one of the main reasons why there using him only for small tasks for now. The technology definitely isn't far enough yet (and who knows if it will ever be) that the robot could actually make crucial decisions.

I don't know, even if the technology would be that far this thing would still worry me quite a bit. I would rather much prefer if they adoperate this robots in other jobs, like in mines or factories.
Another ethical problem with having them as policemen would be for privacy, they would be able to track the movements of every single citizien, we already live in an Orwellian society, with cameras everywhere, I'd rather much prefer if this situation doesn't degenerate even further, but that seems inevitable nowdays

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44