Sort:  

Yea, after doing some digging to write this, it really seemed that it wasn't so much a caffeine issue versus those 'extra' ingredients in the energy drinks. That's why not naming the brands he had really made the coroners findings seem invalid.

I'm an avid coffee lover myself, easily going through 1.5 - 2 pots when I was younger working overnight shifts.

It could depend upon the person's body and the complex interactions between those ingredients, etc. I can't have very much coffee anymore because it gets me too wired, but I also know people who practically live on the stuff. Everybody is different.

Very very true. My boyfriend get's dizzy and lightheaded after having a small amount of caffeine. It just doesn't work well for him. Like you said, everyone reacts different to things. Personally, I couldn't imagine life without my morning coffee. :P

I do think the news headlines and the coroner could have found a better way to phrase things, since I take the phrase caffeine overdose to require a little more extreme consumption like dozens of cups of coffee, energy drinks, pills, etc, compared to what they said the kid had (one soda, one latte, and one energy drink.) But largely that's just a semantic thing at that point.

I worked nights since I was about 14 until a couple of years ago (I'm 66)
in other news..MASSIVE amounts of coffee, daily, has been found to (perhaps...always the weasel wording) prevent heart attacks, stroke, and to prevent the spread of cancer.

I hear ya...I have seen the various reports on the benefits of lots of coffee. I like to think I get to take advantage of those. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52