You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trump Gives in on Afghanistan, Opens The War Up to No End

in #news7 years ago

I had such high hopes that with a Trump government the endless American war-mongering would be over.
The only good thing I see in all this is that most Europeans over here hate Trump so much that they are less and less ready to follow the American course. And maybe the relationship with Russia is already getting better after the American sanctions against German companies.
This i.m.o. reduces the danger of WWIII.

Sort:  

Don't believe all the lies you hear from the Main Stream Media...
President Trump is going to do all that he said and more... We're
going to see Prosperity in the United States that hasn't been seen
by anyone currently living in the Present... President Trump will go
down in History as our most loved President...
... ...$7.77 ... ...1 vote ... ... .... Reset
@pocketechange

Russia relations is the most important issue on the planet. And he was the opposite of Hillary. So he had my support in relation to her. Not saying I expected much.

You are right we must end the war- and hate-mongering with Russia.
And I should have known that Trump is not a principled man and is easily swayed if only enough pressure is put on him.
But during the campaign I listened to many of his speeches and somehow I believed him when he promised to "drain the swamp" of the financial gangsters. I even talked to some American friends and told them he wasn't that bad no matter what the media said about him. I fervently defended him in front of my German family who thought I was crazy and Trump was monster, that's what the news tells us here in Europe over and over again.
And then right away he got men from the biggest gangster den into his cabinet (Goldman Sachs) as well as some of the worst war-mongers and fired all the reasonable anti-war people.

On another topic:
That your post after 2 days still stays at 0.86 Steem makes my point exactly, that chances for politically peace promoting or anti-war content to get a lot of views is very, very low.
If you still believe that Steemit is a worthwhile project, maybe we could coordinate our efforts and give organizing a steemit-peace movement a try.
And I don't expect you to put up any money(steem) I'll do it, until I run out of steem as I wrote in my post.

I'll keep up my work. I'm definitely into coordinating. There are a lot of libertarian, anti-war content creators here that make a good amount of money. Of course they already have a huge audience from their time on Youtube and elsewhere. But this place does have a libertarian bend to it.

I just resteemed a post by @bitdollar about having a "niche" blog. All I can do is keep pumping this place with consistent content.

Ron Paul once said that the peace candidate usually always wins the general elections, maybe Trump's campaign strategists were just aware of that aswell. It's funny to see all the people that got him elected saying that he was gona end the Fed and the wars and so on and so forth now making backwards saltos to try to justify Trump's moves. They have blood on their hands and should apologize for misleading people imho. As for the voters (sorry if you're one of them), you take yourselves of the hook a bit too easily aswell when you say ''that asshole, he betrayed us ! He won't get my vote again !'', you let yourselves be fooled.

Well. I'm not an American, but if I had been I probably would have voted for him, because I was afraid Hillary would have started WWIII. After all she kept threatening Russia and said all options are on the table and it was her who was responsible for the destruction of Libya. And after she watched Gaddafi being rape-murdered she laughed and cited Julius Cesar.
So the choice was to either vote for the psychopath who promised war or for the narcissist who promised to stop the wars.
I even think Trump originally meant to have kept his promise until he came under pressure, where he then showed himself as a man without a backbone.

I agree with your first paragraph, I used those arguments aswell when liberals arround me were acting like Trump was the end of the world but Hillary was just fine. However I think that this mentality that you have to chose the lesser of two evils is the root of the problem. I guess it's all a matter of principle vs pragmatism, but in my opinion the reason other parties/candidates can't win is because people think that they don't have a chance and therefor don't vote for them, it's a vicious cycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50