FaucetBOX.com is closing

in #news8 years ago (edited)

FaucetBOX

FaucetBOX.com, one of the most popular bitcoin faucet systems with micropayments, is sadly closing its business.

To quote the official announcement:

We have a sad news to announce: FaucetBOX.com is closing. We disabled creating new accounts today. On 19 December 2016 we will disable our API, which means that faucets using FaucetBOX.com will stop working. We will continue to handle withdrawals for owners and users until 16 January 2017. You have 6 weeks to update your faucets and migrate to other micropayments services. Remember that you have to reach the payout threshold to receive a withdrawal. Faucet owners will have to manually withdraw their coins in Dashboard before 16 January 2017.

The reason is quite simple:

Despite many efforts and great growth FaucetBOX.com didn’t turn into a profitable business and we’re not able to sustain it anymore.

If you are a FaucetBOX.com user go and check your balance. Maybe you are a few satoshis short of the checkout.

What Will Happen To Existing FaucetBox Faucets?

There is a solution:

To ease the transition and give alternative to faucet owners, we released Faucet in a BOX update which adds Paytoshi.org and ePay.info support. We will continue releasing updates of our faucet script in the future.

I do hope that existing faucet operators will switch to ePay.info which is my second favourite micropayment platform.

Dear FaucetBOX.com team, thank you very much for everything!


I found out about this sad news today from @profitgenerator's article. Thanks for telling us!


Better and Better!

Orange Swan By Lemark

Sort:  

Thank you for this. Will have to close my bitcoin faucets I have. Was hoping to use them to advertise steem and fund with steem. Will work on this idea in the future then. Currently not sure of the best way to have a faucet with bitcoin and/or steem capabilities that fits with my ideas.

You are welcome.

You can try with ePay.info. They are responsive and appear to be professional. I had positive experience with them in the past.

Upvoted and resteemed!!!!

Thank you very much!

ErvinLemark Ervin Lemark tweeted @ 29 Nov 2016 - 19:05 UTC

Any FaucetBOX.com users out there? Their shop is closing ...

steemit.com/news/@ervin-le… / https://t.co/tRl7toQYZ0

@steemit @faucetbox #bitcoin #bitcoinfaucet

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This really sucks, I can't believe they are not profitable. They got literally hundreds of faucets listed there and they took a 3% commission I believe.

Most faucets easily make profits, so how can't they make too from their faucet owner clients?

Of course the profit margin is tilted towards the faucet owner, but still, most faucet owners can easily make 50$/month. It covers their hosting and other costs so that should be profitable.

I don't know and it won't change a thing, I am afraid.

Do you have any faucetbox faucets?

No but I was just about to setup a few before learning about this news, now I have to look for other API systems. Do you have any ideas what substitutes can we use?

Too bad.

Maybe you should try my epay.info. I don't visit their faucets a lot but they seem reliable to me. At least they are responsive on email. I've had some discussion last year about promoting their platform ...

I have to rething my faucet business if these operators are so volatile. Maybe I'll setup some other sites.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74