You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Brother in your Pocket? - also musings on the future of VALUE and ADVERTISING on the Steem platform

in #news7 years ago

So on another note, we had our 5 year old grandson here for two weeks over his christmas break from school. He asked if he could bring his Nintendo, and I unknowingly said yes.

My kids had those games when they were small, you get the little cards, pop them in, play annoying games and so on...no big deal, right?

Not so much anymore. Now, they have to be connected to the internet in order to use them. So he pops in a game, and the camera starts showing the room in our place on the screen, like a live video...and you play the game over a backdrop of where ever the camera on the thing is pointing.

I was like, whoa, hey, wait a minute, turn that thing off...turn off the camera. He said, you can't, the only way the game works is if the camera is on. I asked him to pick a different game then, that doesn't use the camera, and he said they are all like that.

I found myself trying to explain to a 5 year old that when connected to the internet, there IS someone on the other side, watching what the camera sees, and I don't want them looking around in our house when I didn't invite them in. It took him a moment, but then he turned it off and thought about it. About an hour later he said, "I shouldn't bring the nintendo into the bathroom when mom is in the shower then, because that is private."

We used to have a name for people who watched in on other people without their knowledge, and it was considered to be disgraceful, peeping Tom.

We live in a sick world culture these days.

Have you heard of ID 2020? If not, you might find it interesting to read up on.

Sort:  

Geez man Nintendo, it ain't what it used to be, huh?

Yeah, it's crazy, blew my mind a little bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43