You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Florida School Shooting Censored on Steemit- Blatant Censorship by @sneak on One of the Most Revealing Posts Ever on Steemit - Post with 850 Views

in #news7 years ago (edited)

@sneak actually works for Steemit, inc. He's not exactly an ordinary user.

There is only one LEGIT reason I could see for someone to flag your post. I saw it, and should have said something.

If you have graphic images you should likely use NSFW as one of your tags. There were some bloody graphic images. Going the NSFW route could be done in conjunction with say a second post. You could do one without the graphic material as not NSFW then mention in that, that you have a second post with some graphic material and just do that segment as NSFW.

I don't know if that is why it was down voted. It is just the only potentially legit reason I could see someone doing so.

Technically they can argue it is not censored, but I've argued that taking all of your potential earnings is a form of censorship. It falls on deaf ears.

In any event I included your "censored" post on today's @newsagg headlines. I actually intended to anyway, I didn't know your post had been sent to flag oblivion until I went to look for it to put it in the headlines post.

It's still there it just takes some effort that shouldn't have to be required to see it.

Medium started completely censoring people recently. I can't tell you much other than hang in there, keep doing what you do, and if you suspect ANYONE might find a violent or sexual image disturbing use an NSFW tag.

Otherwise, they can easily use that as an excuse.

EDIT: By the way your post (other than financially) is not censored on Busy.org. @newsagg I always include links to both the steemit and busy versions of a post.

Sort:  

Thanks @dwinblood. Good informative points from you, as usual. I appreciate it. I will instead share the Busy link as it is also a little more attractive appearance-wise the way that Busy looks. I only had one graphic image in the post (of the girl supposedly dead on the floor). The rest were make up special effects that are part of the job of one of the people linked to the actors group for the kids.

I didn't realize @sneak was working for Steemit. I wish they could of at least gave me a heads up and I could have adjusted things and/or would have added the NSFW tag. The info in this particular post is highly important and controversial so when I saw it hidden I may have over reacted somewhat in that regard. I just wish I could have been given a chance to discuss it before they hid it. I appreciate all that you do helping me understand the nuances of Steemit. Kind regards.

edit: On a similar note, our mutual friend Ben Swann also has something up on scripted talks points for the Parkland kids from CNN at his new Facebook page. Glad to see that Ben is back. :)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/214625522424143/

Yep, I put TruthInMedia.com into my daily @newsagg aggregation rotation, so I've been putting usually at least one thing per day from his website in the headlines, unless that day has nothing new. So far that hasn't been the case.

If you have graphic images you should likely use NSFW as one of your tags. There were some bloody graphic images.

fair enough actually

That truly is not for you or I to say. People use their vote as they like. So I shrugged them off, but I did notice them and think SOME people might react to them.

I've noticed that WHEN IN DOUBT I tend to use the NSFW tag.

Really I don't care what images people use as long as they are not the first image in the post and forcing people to view it in their feed without opting into it.

So I don't flag people for that. I think I've used the flag so few times in two years I could likely count it with one hand.

Yet, a lot of people don't agree with me, and I don't control their vote. :(

So when I have any "hmm.... should this be NSFW" thoughts I immediately realize that if I am asking then it is probably safest to use that tag.

Though I have no idea if this is why @sneak flagged it or not.

It may be something he would have flagged whether NSFW was used or not. Hard to say.

I mainly am trying to be helpful to @clarityofsignal. Don't give them an excuse no matter how tenuous to say they FLAGGED it for NSFW content.

I flagged his post because baseless conspiracy nonsense like this doesn't deserve a cent in rewards. I couldn't care less about what is or isn't tagged NSFW. Shitposters (and apparently whiners who don't know what censorship is) shouldn't be earning here, in my sole personal opinion.

I speak for no one but myself; any professional affiliation I may or may not have is irrelevant to my voting, as I vote with my own stake and no one else's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47