Airlines starting to weigh passengers before boarding flights

in #newslast year

If someone out there is "plus sized" or "thin challenged" this might not be something they are very excited about. But me, as someone who has been charged crazy fines for having a bag that is a few pounds over the limit, I welcome this addition to flying although I am certain it will not stick around for very long seeing as how the whiners of the world will no doubt, be all over this very quickly.


image.png
src

One downside of this is the fact that this is going to make the already arduous process of getting on a plane take even longer, especially when obese people decide to start trouble with the staff for doing their job. An upside of this is that perhaps we can start to tackle the problem of people who are far too large for a single economy seat buying a single economy seat. As mean as it might sound to these people, most obese people are that way because of poor life choices and call me a jerk if you want to, but I don't think it is at all fair that other people's comfort should be sacrificed because someone else spent decades completely ignoring their health.

I would like to see this result in people getting put in a certain section for fatties but unfortunately that is not what is happening here. This is taking place in ultra-liberal New Zealand after all so the airline states that this is purely for weight distribution on the airplane.

Neither the person operating the scale nor the passenger can actually see the weight as it is simply automatically put into the computer of some sort in order to determine the weight distribution of the airplane. This is NOT a way to get seriously huge people in a situation where they have to feel bad about how massive they are, even though I think that this sort of tough love would actually do the world, and the obese people, a great deal of good.

I don't know a great deal about aviation but according to Air New Zealand, slight weight differences on one side of the plane as opposed to the other can make a real difference about the operation of the plane. I'm not sure that I believe that but whatever. It's their company and they can do whatever they want with it I guess.

I'm just over here waiting for some fatty to go bonkers on Twitter or TikTok stating that this is some sort of fat-shaming even though the airline has seriously gone out of their way to ensure that nobody is put into an embarrassing situation. In my mind, I think it would probably be good for everyone if some of the seriously unhealthy people of the world were shamed a little bit.

I'd bet money on an overreaction by social media because that's kind of what they do, isn't it?


logo_dumb_brush.png

Sort:  

there is certainly truth about weight distribution. I was on a flight with like 10 people and we were spread out.

But, as we say in French, truth hurts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83