JSECoin - Mining Crypto Currencies In (or With) Your Browser

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Now that's an interesting idea: instead of expensive hardware hashing meaningless numbers, why not putting some CPU power at work while a user is browsing your website? Think about it... Inserting a small JavaScript code that will take a bit of CPU cycles while your user is reading your latest blogpost, helping the network going on... Sounds too good to be true?

Maybe. But some guys already thought about it and launched a coin called JSECoin. I presume the "JS" part comes from JavaScript and I hope they won't have any issues with that. Anyway, you can find more info, including a White Paper, here.

The product is somewhere between an MVP and beta, with a strong penchant towards MVP. There are still a few rough edges but it seems the implementation does work. I installed it on a few websites I run (including steem.supply) and I will monitor them constantly to see how it's going.

If they will position themselves as an alternative way of monetizing content, complementary to AdSense, I can see an interesting path for them. If they grow enough, Google will be put in the position of either marginalize them brutally, or buy them, which will then mark Google's debut as a player in the cryptocurrency area.

You can join it here, they also have a referral program (disclaimer: this link is an aff link).

The times, they are changing.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Thanks @dragosroua for sharing this interesting coin, i registered and started mining... was very smooth...

Sounds pretty interesting, I'll take a look, thanks for sharing

time is certainly changing for sure and this is just the beginning more new changes to follow

Being Webmaster is a great project for me. Thank you for this great discovery, I will try right away.

very nice information sir, i am trying it right now.

So I have started mining on this website too, hope for the best :p

Wow! This is really an awesome idea. Thanks for the info.

Wait... you can mine currencies with your browser.
I can't wait to see this in full swing
I'll be sure to look into it more @dragosroua

Very nice information Friend..

amigo #resteemia at your service

'mining via web browser' an innovative concept. hope to try this one. nice sharing @dragosroua

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64273.56
ETH 3487.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52