JSECoin Is Now The Biggest Opt-In Browser Mining Platform In The World

in #news6 years ago

Well, it's been a while, but the wait was really worth it. A small project called JSECoin, launched a year ago, became, through hard work and patience, the biggest opt-in browser mining platform in the world. The announcement was made a couple of days ago, in an official JSECoin blog post.

Before rising that eyebrow, let's take a moment and see what exactly means "opt-in browser mining"?

It's a platform in which you, as a webmaster, can monetize your traffic by having your visitors mine some tokens (JSE tokens) in their browser while they are visiting your site. The actual CPU consumption is lower than what's required to run a video ad. The whole process is transparent, meaning the users have to explicitly opt-in for the process, and they can obviously opt-out at any moment. This is totally different from the hidden Monero miners you read about every few days.

According to the blog post above, in August JSECoin had a market share higher than 9%, which places the coin on the first position, before the next competitor, authedmine. Please keep in mind that this is happening while the ICO is still active, which means the token is not yet trading on any exchange.

I joined this project in its infancy, helped them with spreading the word and with testing. Some of the testing was made in steem.supply and I still remember how much heat I got here, on Steemit.com, for "stealing CPU cycles from innocent users". Of course I never stole anything from anybody, it was all announced and transparent, but lack of education and a certain penchant for drama led some high profile Steemians to make a fool of themselves.

I don't hold grudges and I won't tell them: "I told you! I told you this is a legit project, I told you this really has a lot of potential!". I just hope this will serve as a reminder to always keep a balanced approach towards life and never engage in aggressive or violent behavior before properly addressing the entire situation.

As a matter of fact, even if the situation is dire, engaging in aggressive and violent behavior seldom solves anything.

With that being said, I will place at the end of this article the obvious disclaimer: I'm supporting this project and I hold some JSECoin. This post is not trading advice.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I tried their web-miner on their site to see how does it go, and I'm positively surprised that even on max "acceleration: 9" it actually limits itself to about 10-20% CPU usage.

Also, what's not really advertised (or I missed it somehow when I was reading their summaries and intros), the miner seems to work only when the website that hosts it is on the foreground. If I change browser tabs to view something else, the miner immediately stops. Very nice!

This ensures that mining is proportional to screen time (money goes to what I read right now, not what I just pinned to see later) and also that I won't ever have 80 tabs that silently mine in the background. That looks very good, much better than other contemporary mine-instead-of-ads solutions!

TL;DR:

FYI: my very simple, very short mining run

This coin have huge potential

It is great to see how an add revenue alternatives for websites is starting to become a reality. It may take a little while as many not educated users are afraid of mining bots using their CPU's but as other projects appear (as BAT) the market will start to have a real alternative to those of us which hate poping adds.

Indeed an unprecedented growth...Thanks to you, I hold some stakes in JSE also...

Now I'm really curious what the price will be once it does start trading.

What gives JSECoins value? Is it fast to transact or can be used somehow?

They already have merchant tools even before ICO, so it can be used for webmasters who want to integrate it in their shopping carts (I guess they have even a WOO Commerce integration).

Other than that, the value is given exactly how any other token gets it: by trust. If people agree one Bitcoin is $6,500, then that's how much it's worth.

The JSECoin ICO price is $0.006, but I'm really curious how it will be after that. Usually, right after an ICO the price takes a hit because many airdroppers or early adopters who got it virtually for nothing will dump the token.

Nevertheless, the team behind the project is very responsive and, speaking of trust, they are publishing their accounting numbers month to month for almost a year. Something I didn't see Steemit INC doing, for instance.

Thanks :)

well they are the most consistent team who is working really hard great to have this update :)

You don't have to get angry because you were misinterpreted. That's nothing new. Glad the platfrom reached that standard. My second time seeing you talk about other ICOs.

I wasn't misinterpreted, I was flagged :) But I get what you're saying and I agree with you.

@dragosroua - Just started​ following you
I just used EOBOT & Nice Hash website for mining.
Thanks for giving newly updated information
pls follow @important-to-us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78