Elon Musk Wants To Connect Your Brains Directly To A Computer: Introducing Neuralink

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Elon_Musk_2015.jpg

Photo credit: Steve Jurvetson - https://www.flickr.com/photos/jurvetson/18659265152/, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=40974345


The ubiquitous Elon Musk - yes, the one with Tesla, SpaceX and Hyperloop - is hitting again. He recently announced Neuralink, a company aiming to connect the brain directly to AI. According to an article in Wall Street Journal the company will focus on devices that can be implemented directly in the brain, facilitating the link with artificial intelligence.

Wether this is just hype (we saw Elon Musk demoing solar tiles too, but didn't hear anything about that specific venture since then) or a legit business, well, that's hard to tell.

But what we know for sure is that this technology was around quite for some time. Fueled by sci-fi speculation and media hype, it slowly starts to creep in as "the next thing" buzzword. When I say the "technology was around quite for some time" I'm referring to consumer-grade devices which are already interacting with your brain waves. Some of them are even linked to iOS apps allowing you to control the animation of a fire or a character levitating, by the way you focus your attention. I've used this technology myself and although it was quite immature, the results were very promising. I think the one I tested was called NeuroSky and it seems it's still active.

Now, try to put together the blockchain technology and these devices. Imagine how it would be to reach consensus on some governance issue just by thinking about it, together with dozens of other witnesses / validators and have the results of that thinking session saved immutably on the blockchain.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78