YOUTUBERS are POOR!

in #news6 years ago

Yes you read that right, most of Youtuber are still living in poverty. That is based on the article from Bloomberg:

New research out of Germany billed as among the first to review the chances of making it in the new Hollywood shows a vanishingly small number will ever break through—just like in the old Hollywood. In fact, 96.5 percent of all of those trying to become YouTubers won’t make enough money off of advertising to crack the U.S. poverty line, according to research by Mathias Bärtl, a professor at Offenburg University of Applied Sciences in Offenburg.


The article go on saying that:

Breaking into the top 3 percent of most-viewed channels could bring in advertising revenue of about $16,800 a year, Bärtl found in an analysis for Bloomberg News. That’s a bit more than the U.S. federal poverty line of $12,140 for a single person. (The guideline for a two-person household is $16,460.) The top 3 percent of video creators of all time in Bärtl’s sample attracted more than 1.4 million views per month.. 
YouTube’s ad rates are opaque and have changed over time, but Bärtl used an income of $1 per 1,000 views for an average YouTuber to calculate his earnings estimates. That rate is a good rule of thumb, said Harry Hugo of the Goat Agency, an influencer marketing firm in London. “I’ve seen as low as 35¢ per 1,000 views and work with some YouTubers who can earn $5 per 1,000,” he said.

For me, that is one of my top reason I stop posting regular videos about my Silat in Youtube Channel 

I put them there merely to share the art not trying to earn money from the ads. And I can understand that some people will feel frustated when they start being  a full time Youtuber because most of your earnings will get cut as mentioned above.

Since I found Steemit and DTube, I immediately realised this is the way for me to earn a regular income. With it´s decentralized technology, people get paid more fair than in Youtube. 

I hope more people will realise the power of Steemit and DTube and get sign in so we can grow this platform better!! I saw that Furious Pete has used Steemit and DTube and I am amazed for his work!!

What do you think?


Sort:  

Good Post. It will increase enthusiasm to novice joiner in steemit also input more post to steem it rather youtube.

yes indeed, eventhough to join Steemit people need some capital too if they want to earn substantial amount of income. They must invest some money into Steem Power and become a Whale :D

It took me nearly a month to have my account approved, and i had to use my GFs cell phone number to do it as i don't own a mobile though i am working ( Satellites have a hard time tracking me if i have no GPS) so it's very unlikely that steemit will blow up at all because of the registration wall.

but now you have your account right:)..I am not saying Steemit is the ultimate solution, I am just saying with the same effort you put in youtube and in Steemit the chance of having more money is in Steemit and DTube

You got a 21.41% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @dimas-alfaruq!

You got a 2.26% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @dimas-alfaruq!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I Accept Dtube us far better web portal to access than YouTube but on the other hand Dtube need a long way to go it's in its initial stages.like it doesn't run smooth as YouTube thats where it lags.

yes i agree..we as a community in DTube should continue to improve it and hopefully one day it will be as smooth or smoother than Youtube

terima kasih banyak :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48