UPDATE: Terror attack in Barcelona - Up to 13 dead

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Those of you who know me know I normally don't post news articles or the like. I stick to photography, memes, and talking about stuff I know about. But unfortunately it seems that a terror attack has happened in my city, the Barcelona Police say they believe that the attack is terror related. I've included some links to the most recent news articles that I can find but so far it looks like at least two casualties, and dozens of injuries. The attack happened at the extremely busy tourist hotspot of Las Ramblas.

170817114111-02-spain-crash-0817-exlarge-169.jpg
Image Source

Currently the city's metro system is shut down, and I think the police are still looking for the suspect. If you are in Barcelona the police are urging people to stay at home right now, and avoid the Las Ramblas area, especially Placa Catalunya.

I just read that there are reports of two armed men taking shelter in a local bar as well, will update as I hear.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/08/17/van-ploughs-crowd-barcelona1/

http://edition.cnn.com/2017/08/17/europe/barcelona-las-ramblas-van-hits-crowd/index.html

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2017/aug/17/barcelona-attack-van-driven-into-crowd-in-las-ramblas-district

EDIT:

The reports are saying up to thirteen dead now, and that there are two armed men holed up in a restaurant near the area.

Sort:  

Oh my God!!
Be safe please.. take care of your self

lately vans like to drive into people in the western europe...

Terror attacks have become a big problem in European Cities with victims innocent people. Lets hope that this one will remain potential.

people from big cities are more exposed :(

@dexter-k,
Hate terrorism and once my country was at that kind of war and we won it! So, we know how hard it is! Hope for a world without terrorism!
I wish all death people from this attack should rest in peace!
Thanks for sharing this breaking news!

(My upvote power was drained and not yet recovered. Please allow me three more days to upvote with 100% uvp)

@dexter-k - Sire, this is a coward decision! Killing innocents is not a victory of a any religion. Therefore, we should do our best to keep the world peace and wish rest in peace for all who death by this attack.
I am decided to share your post.

+W+

My friend texted me about this.. It's crazy :l

That's hurt all of us, terrorism has no religion at all they just want to destroy humanity :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32