You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Is A Trend to Expatriate America - A Word From an Expat.

in #news8 years ago

Interestingly enough, I'm a Danish citizen, living in the USA... still on my Danish passport. I have been here for a couple of decades and feel pretty "established," but we might move again... the political and social climate is making me feel somewhat anxious, these days.

Sort:  

I had been renting out my apartment for about eight years and most who rented were Danish, Dutch, German, and American. Twenty percent of the renters who came to Argentina to vacation ended up staying. The most difficult part is leaning the language.

Argentina and Chile have both looked interesting to me, for some years... since I lived in Spain from ages 13 to 20 the language doesn't scare me so much; I can't imagine "Castilian" Spanish is that different from South American Spanish.

Most here will tell you they speak "Castillano" rather than Spanish. The same is true for nearby Uruguay. The main differences are:

  • No Vosotros: Plural "you" is only "ustedes"
  • Vos: Singular "you" is only "vos" and its strangely conjugated accentuation
  • Pronunciation of "y" and "ll" are both the sound "sh"
  • Most times you hear "s", it will be so soft that you can't hear it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60327.79
ETH 2348.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53