YouTube to Stop Recommending Conspiracy Videos

in #news5 years ago

YouTube to Stop Recommending Conspiracy Videos

--YouTube announces it will tweak its recommendation algorithm to stop recommending conspiracy videos to users, a decision met with both praise and disdain

What effect do you think this will have?

Sort:  

Congrats @davidpakman on making it into Shane Dawson's recent conspiracy video! It was nice to see a face I recognized from @Steemit featured in it!

yes indeed, saw this!

If our situations were reversed I'd still be having an OMG freakout to infinity moment. I probably relate & fangirl with his group of people too much. 😊

Having to wait for part 2 is brutal. I'm so intrigued by folks waking up to a lot of this stuff & can't wait to see how the future unfolds.

Anyways, grats again for being featured. I still think that's pretty awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think this will be huge. Well, I like to watch a conspiracy video every once in a while and they probably made up a fair share of my recommendations.
The algorithm always depends on your previous input, right?

Sure, not every user will be affected. But what youtube marks as a conspiracy video is important.

Conspiracy videos have just gained lot of popularity. Probably a few of them even being right. For me, watching it triggers me curious and makes me research interesting topics. This way I can make up my own mind on things. If not debunking them instantly with different experience or results in things I did.

Let's see if people creating these videos will need to find another platform as youtube. Just like many creatives had to do because of past decisions of youtube.

I think this is overall good by YouTube whatever others might say.

But I wish they and others allowed users to decide for themselves in their settings how they want YouTube's algorithms to help them find new content they want to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69135.35
ETH 3742.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67