Do You Have Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder?

in #news7 years ago

I interviewed Jeff Szymanski, physician and executive director of the international OCD Foundation, about obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and his book "The Perfectionist's Handbook"

--Support Our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/davidpakmanshow

Sort:  

"unwanted" thoughts being the key word here I think.

I have OCD. I have had under control for about 10 years. But I can always have it in its acute stage with symptoms. a alway have to remember that even though it can go into remission that it is never truly gone.

Very interesting interview. Is there any chance you'll consider publishing transcripts as well as the videos in the future?

The cool part about breaking those repetitive tendencies is that new neural pathways can be created & because the exposure to anxieties was a choice, the initial response is already better since a person is prepared for the flood of bio-chemicals instead of being triggered by then. It also creates the means to learn to self-sooth without relying on going down those familiar & well worn neural ruts, even by getting to internally say "remember last time when you tried to stop & it was ok? Remember how great that felt? You rocked that shit, right?" & already the brain is down a different path. It's excellent to come from a place of having my own back instead of being at the will of a brain that delights in making me suffer & training it out of negative tendencies through positive attention.

If you do a follow up interview, I'd be interested to know if he has any advice for dealing with the exhaustion that comes from exposure therapy.

Being repeatedly & purposely flooded with the chemicals & hormones behind anxiety, frustration & all that is exhausting both mentally & physically and I've struggled with being disabled by it.

Thanks for bringing such great quality content to the platform. I feel a little proud of myself for naturally doing what he's talking about in my efforts to save my brain. 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66