Is Steemit shocked that I found common ground with a Breitbart conservative? [dTube]

in #news7 years ago


I guess all is possible in the era of Trump? While certainly we would not agree on policy on probably ANY issue, we do both agree that Trump is not a conservative...is this the sort of respectful bipartisan discussion we can expect to continue having on Steemit & dTube?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I imagine that if the Devil himself were walking the Earth and he was in disagreement with President Trump, you and he would gleefully find common ground.

i'm agree

Who do you think Steemit is? Why should it be shocked or surprised? CAN Stemmit be surprised?

I was shocked how unaccustomed I felt watching two adults actually act like adults and respect each other despite different opinions, that's for sure. It's insane how much more balanced, informative and mature a mere youtuber (no insult here) sounds in comparison to the mainstream media which is backed by millions of dollars and still the go to for many people. This isn't to say everyone needs to keep their cool all the time, but they get the most polarized people fighting with each other for ratings and it's ridiculous. It's not like they get heated sometimes, they're constantly heated.

Since you've come to steemit, I've had an opportunity to see more of your work and develop respect for what you do. I'm not so sure I want my daily dose of politics now, but I'll be checking in everyone once in a while. :-D

Yeah it can be jarring for sure haha

While I agree that Trump only cares about broader perceptions over real policy nuts & bolts, that’s essentially what makes me disagree with the comparisons to traditional ideological conservatives like Cruz. Seems like a distinction without a real difference. Trump’s policy prescriptions have been in lockstep with conservatives like Cruz (who votes with Trump 93% of the time). And I’d argue that Trump has moved more in Cruz’s direction than the inverse — mostly because it’s the path of least resistance for Trump.

Yeah, I agree. I think the only thing that would be different if Cruz was president is the lack of twitter drama.

His Twitter would be boring as boring as him

I'm not anti- or pro-trump. I am paying attention to the things he has done, however. For example, signing "Executive Order: Ethics Commitments by Executive Branch Appointees" limits the ability of former Executive level government employees from lobby in the same field they were serving in for 5 years.

Anyone who serves on executive level must agree; "I will not, within 5 years after the termination of my employment as an appointee in any executive agency in which I am appointed to serve, engage in lobbying activities with respect to that agency."

This should stop the revolving door in Washington, D.C. I guess we'll have to wait 5 years(After Trump's term) and see.

Trump is not a conservative for sure. He is an opportunist. He'll wear whatever clothes he needs to to get what he wants.

that's mostly a red herring, it doesn't say anything about lobbying by former members of congress of the legislative branch, which is actually where most of the lobbying takes place.

To be honest, I think Trump's entire presidency is a Red Herring.

I may not be directly addressing whether Trump is a conservative or not, yet, I submitted it so as to show his "Non-conservatism," because we can see congressional business operating as usual, as designed. The executive order submitted, in my opinion, is in direct contravention of the conservative game plan though(occupy all sides of debate).

Trump, although speaking as guardian of the people, can be easily seen for his worth, a joker in a sheep costume wearing wolves clothing. A "Dude playing a Dude disguised as another Dude."

One thing is for sure...the most discussed man now a days..no matter in positive or negative way...I think he enjoys being center of people's attention....a real theater worker!

I think the office of the president attracts people of this personality type. Trump didn't invent this game in 2016.

These are the kinds of conversations that you and everyone else should have been striving for in the first place. There is a striking lack of people willing to venture outside of the ideological comfort zones and this will be damning in the long run. If you aren't consistently throwing your most deeply held beliefs up against those who disagree with you how can you possibly know they're correct?

Agreed, we seem to be entering an age where political discourse is forbidden not encouraged, where you could end up with a hit squad of ideologues after you if you simply have a coffee with the wrong person..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32